Research Guides: HSSP 115b: Perspectives on Behavioral Health: Alcohol, Drugs, and Mental Health: Finding Books & Journal Articles

Social Sciences Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

781-736-4673

Subjects: American Studies, Health Policy, Heller School for Social Policy and Management, International & Global Studies, Journalism, Legal Studies, Politics, Public Policy

Remember: NEVER PAY

If you hit a Pay Wall, that is (a page that asks you to pay a fee to access a journal or article) NEVER PAY! You will often have access through Brandeis or Inter-Library Loan. Contact Aimee with questions!

General Search

Need help narrowing down your topic? Try searching a general database with keywords to help you focus your research. Once you've collected a few key terms, try searching a more subject-specific database. UNet login required.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Wide variety of scholarly literature, newspapers, magazines, and more covering topics from a wide variety of disciplines. A great place to start searching for sources on your subject!
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Uses Google's powerful search to find scholarly literature. This link to Google Scholar authenticates you as a Brandeis user and provides the Brandeis Get It button next to many of your search results, allowing you to more easily find the full text of the articles.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text news, business, industry and legal information from major newspapers and magazines.

Journal Literature

APA PsycInfo (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports in psychology. Includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Coverage 1887 to present, includes 1,700+ international sources in over 35 languages.
Health Reference Center Academic (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics. Sources include full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries. Designed for healthcare students, professionals, and researchers.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database for biomedical and health journals, curated by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Entries from thousands of journals that have been approved by the advisory committee as high quality, with coverage back to 1966.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Public policy papers and grey literature from over 120 countries, 1915-present.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
More than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Produced by the National Library of Medicine and the NIH, includes full text of all research funded by the NIH since 2008.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
An abstract and citation database of scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Search journals of social work, social welfare, social policy and community development, 1979 to present.

Brandeis Library OneSearch

The Library Catalog tab is the principal means for locating books, journals, and videos in the library's collections. OneSearch can be useful for this purpose at two levels of your research. If you have already identified the book(s) you need through other research aids, search OneSearch Library Catalog by Title or by Author to locate the item(s) in the library. If you are trying to identify books that will be useful for your research, search OneSearch Library Catalog by Keyword or Subject.

Note: There are some library databases that aren't searchable in OneSearch. Users can still search these databases via our A-Z list. Not sure which database to use? Email me for suggestions!