Skip to main content
Research Guides Brandeis University
OneSearch | Find Databases | e-Journals A-Z | Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Interlibrary Loan (or Resource Sharing): Request Articles/Book chapters

Login to Interlibrary Loan or WorldCat. How to use these services. Policies.

Requesting copies of articles and book chapters

Easiest way to request an article or book chapter:  Search for articles in Brandeis Scholar, OneSearch, or in an database and then follow the instructions to submit the request via interlibrary loan.

Submitting an ILL request from a database saves typing, copying,  and pasting - and errors are less likely. These requests are also processed more quickly because they have added standard numbers like the ISSN.

Instructions

  • Use Brandeis Scholar, OneSearch or a database to search for articles or book chapters.
  • When you find the citation for the article or book chapter that you want, click on the GET IT link.
  • If you can access the article/journal electronically, you will see a link to the full text.
  • If Brandeis owns the article or book chapter in print, you'll see a link to the catalog where you can find the call number for that item.
  • If Brandeis does not have that article or book chapter, or if Brandeis does have the item but you wish to use the Document Delivery service, then click on the GET IT link and log into your ILL account. A completed form for the item you are requesting will appear automatically. Click "Submit."
  • You will receive an email from ILL when the article/book chapter arrives, or when the Document Delivery scan is ready! Articles and book chapters are delivered electronically as PDF files.

Can I submit a request without using a database?

If you cannot find a record for the article or book chapter you want in a database, or you already have a citation, then you can login into your ILL account (from this help guide) and fill out a request form manually. The blank request forms are found under New Request on the left hand side of the page (see below). Please include as much information as possible to help us identify and find the item. Incomplete or inaccurate citations can cause delays. You can always put extra information in the notes field.


These requests generally take a little longer to supply than those submitted from a database because they lack standard numbers like the ISSN.

Document Delivery

We also do Document Delivery!

If you find an article or book chapter that the Brandeis library has in print, we can scan it for you!

We will also download and deliver electronic articles to you!

Contact Us

Interlibrary Loan:

Hours: 8:30am–4:30pm, M–F

Phone: 781-736-4676

Email: ill@brandeis.edu

Fax: 781-736-4724


Information and Borrowing Desk:

Phone: 781-736-5626 (or 781-736-LOAN)


Problems or emergencies:
Contact the Interlibrary Loan department during business hours. If you need to report a problem after 4:30pm or during the weekend, please contact the Information and Borrowing Desk.

Mailing address:
Brandeis University
Library, Interlibrary Loan
415 South Street, MS 045
Waltham, MA  02453-2728
 

Brandeis Library FacebookTwitterInstagramTumblr
Library & Technology Footer