All Brandeis' theses and dissertations are listed in OneSearch our library catalog
Senior honors theses – many newer theses are available online in the Institutional Repository in the Brandeis University Senior Honors Theses collection and may be found via the OneSearch catalog. Print copies are kept only in Archives.
Masters theses – In Archives or the Institutional Repository. Recent Master's theses (2008- ) are now available in electronic format via the Brandeis Institutional Repository Masters Theses Collection and may be found via the OneSearch catalog.
Ph.D. – Most dissertations written by Brandeis students are available in full-text via the Dissertations and Theses@Brandeis database and may be found via the OneSearch catalog. We also have a print, circulating copy in the stacks. Search for the title in OneSearch
For more information about Brandeis theses and dissertations go to the Robert D. Farber University Archives and Special Collections Department.
Print or microfilm:
Brandeis purchases many interesting works done elsewhere, look for titles in OneSearch
We have several databases where many dissertations and theses can be found in full-text:
Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest) This database is a very comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations This is an index of over 1.6 million electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). To the extent possible, the index is limited to records of graduate-level theses that are freely available online
PQDT Open PQDT Open provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge. The authors of these dissertations and theses have opted to publish as open access.
Search WorldCat to see if a copy of the thesis or dissertation you want is available at another library. You can find locations and sometimes, a URL to the full-text.
To order via WorldCat click on the Request Item through Interlibrary Loan button. This process is exactly the same as ordering a book. Note that sometimes the only format we can get is microfilm. If the only copy of the thesis is the original copy held by the degree-granting institution, we will still try because some libraries will lend them, but some won't, so there is no guarantee that we can get it.
Information from ProQuest about using search engines to find dissertations and theses
If you cannot obtain the item want from another library you yourself can usually purchase a copy online from Dissertation Express at ProQuest (UMI) which controls the reproduction of most
Many dissertations and theses can also be purchased and printed-on-demand at amazon.com
Theses from UK institutions:
Many are available from EThOS: http://ethos.bl.uk/About.do
This is a self-service system, students and researchers register and create an account with EThOS. No need to request via ILL.
Theses Canada Portal: http://www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/thesescanada/
You can use this site to search for titles, but they must be ordered via ILL. If you wish to purchase a copy of a Canadian thesis yourself, go to Dissertation Express at ProQuest (UMI).
Hours: 8:30am–4:30pm, M–F
Information and Borrowing Desk:
Phone: 781-736-5626 (or 781-736-LOAN)
Problems or emergencies:
Contact the Interlibrary Loan department during business hours. If you need to report a problem after 4:30pm or during the weekend, please contact the Information and Borrowing Desk.
Library, Interlibrary Loan
415 South Street, MS 045
Waltham, MA 02453-2728
Before ordering, be sure to check our library discovery tool OneSearch (includes our library catalog and other library resources). We have thousands of e-books now!
We may have it here at Brandeis already!