Skip to main content
Research Guides Brandeis University
OneSearch | Find Databases | e-Journals A-Z | Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Interlibrary Loan (or Resource Sharing): Center for Research Libraries

Login to Interlibrary Loan or WorldCat. How to use these services. Policies.

Center for Research Libraries



 

Brandeis community members now have access to 5 million new resources through Center for Research Libraries.

Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is a centralized collection of scholarly research materials. CRL is an international not-for-profit consortium of colleges, universities and independent research libraries

The Center for Research Libraries provides a shared collection of five million books, journals, documents and newspapers and electronic resources to its member libraries to supplement their holdings in the humanities, science, and social sciences.  CRL materials can be borrowed for extended loan periods, allowing for intensive use of long runs of publications and archives.

CRL resources include:

  • 6,500 international newspapers, some from as early as the 1700s—the largest circulating collection of newspapers in North America
  • 4,500 U.S. newspapers, including 2,000 ethnic titles
  • Foreign journals rarely held in U.S. libraries, with a focus on science and technology
  • Access to rich holdings in science, technology and engineering print serials through a partnership with the Linda Hall Library
  • More than 800,000 non U.S. dissertations
  • Area Studies: major collections from Africa, Latin America, Middle East, Europe, Asia, and South  Asia, in various formats

Membership in CRL allows Brandeis faculty, staff, and enrolled students to easily request these items via Interlibrary Loan.

CRL also offers other services, such as reference consultation; and a demand purchase service for materials, especially foreign dissertations, newspapers and microform archives.

 

CRL materials can be searched and requested via OneSearch or WorldCat. You may also search the CRL catalog or browse the CRL topic guides to find out more about collections available to you. A Subject Liaison can help you identify CRL materials that might be useful in your research.

Contact Us

Interlibrary Loan:

Hours: 8:30am–4:30pm, M–F

Phone: 781-736-4676

Email: ill@brandeis.edu

Fax: 781-736-4724


Information and Borrowing Desk:

Phone: 781-736-5626 (or 781-736-LOAN)


Problems or emergencies:
Contact the Interlibrary Loan department during business hours. If you need to report a problem after 4:30pm or during the weekend, please contact the Information and Borrowing Desk.

Mailing address:
Brandeis University
Library, Interlibrary Loan
415 South Street, MS 045
Waltham, MA  02453-2728
 

Brandeis Library FacebookTwitterInstagramTumblr
Library & Technology Footer