Skip to main content
Research Guides Brandeis University
OneSearch | Find Databases | e-Journals A-Z | Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

*American History: Articles & Databases

Guide for research in American History

Search Tips

Start by brainstorming keywords and search terms. Use subject headings or descriptors to help generate search terms.

When you find a good article, look at its References or Works Cited list. That will often lead you to other useful sources.

If you see an article you'd like to read but you don't see a PDF for the article, click on the  "GET IT" button. This will open a new window that will allow you to see if Brandeis has access to the article through another database or if Brandeis has the article in print. If Brandeis doesn't have the article online or in print, you'll see an option to request the article through Interlibrary Loan

Recommended Databases

For a broad search, start with the Articles & More tab of the Library's OneSearch. This searches across many of our subscription academic databases to find individual articles from journals, newspapers, magazines, and more.

For a more focused searched, try one of these recommended databases (The following resources were selected as starting points for research in American History. To access the complete selection of databases at Brandeis, go to Brandeis Scholar.):

Where to Locate Journals

Here are some places to search our journal collections.

Interlibrary Loan

Need to place an interlibrary loan (ILL) request for an article? 

Brandeis Library FacebookTwitterInstagramTumblr
Library & Technology Footer