Skip to main content
Research Guides Brandeis University
OneSearch | Find Databases | e-Journals A-Z | Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

*American History: Historical Newspapers & Magazines

Guide for research in American History

From the Library of Congress

Highlighted Newspapers from the Library's Databases

The databases listed to the right search across many newspapers. If you'd like to find articles from a specific newspaper, you can search our eJournals (A-Z) to see if we have online access to the journal or you can try a title search in OneSearch to see if we have the newspaper in print or in microfilm. 

Listed below are specific newspapers that are often used:

Historical Newspapers & Magazines

Tips for Searching Historical Newspapers & Periodicals

If you are using a database with an Advanced Search form, try using the Advanced Search features to refine your search.


Since these databases cover many decades, it can be helpful to limit your search to a specific date range.


Think about what terms that might have been used to in articles about your topic during the time period. For example: the name of a specific person or organization or even a term that wouldn't be used today.


Some databases allow you to limit your search to articles from a specific geographic area. Try doing this when researching events from a specific region.


These databases often sort results in chronological order. In some cases, it might be helpful to sort by relevance/best matches first.


In addition to searching, try browsing these collections to learn about sources that you wouldn't have necessarily thought of searching for.

Brandeis Library FacebookTwitterInstagramTumblr
Library & Technology Footer