Skip to main content

Databases A-Z

Choose the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

Database Access

Most items are restricted to current Brandeis students, faculty, and staff.

Unlocked icon designating freely available resource = Freely available resource. Brandeis username and password not required.

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription. Please send your feedback.
New
For over 40 years, Heinemann's African Writers Series published the key texts of modern African literature. This online edition includes fiction, poetry, drama and non-fictional prose, including works by Ama Ata Aidoo, Steve Biko, Buchi Emecheta, Nadine Gordimer, Bessie Head, Doris Lessing, Nelson Mandela, Dambudzo Marechera, Christopher Okigbo, Okot p'Bitek and Tayeb Salih.
Trial
A current directory which describes over 220,000 collections of primary source material housed in thousands of repositories across the United States, the United Kingdom and Ireland.
Trial ends: October 31, 2020
New
A searchable online library of authentic video cases showing National Board Certified Teachers at work in the classroom. Access is limited to 50 simultaneous users.
Trial
English translation of Brockelmann's famous Geschichte der Arabischen Litteratur (GAL). Brockelmann's work offers bio-bibliographic information about works written in Arabic and their authors, with an emphasis on the classical period. It is divided in chronologically organized sections, which are subdivided by literary genre. Individual entries typically consist of a biographical section and a list of the author’s works in manuscript and print, with references to secondary literature. Trial ends: October 30, 2020
New
Covers civil rights in the United States, including publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, legislative histories on landmark legislation, briefs from relevant U.S. Supreme Court cases, and more.
New
A comprehensive English-Yiddish dictionary, including many regional and dialectal variants.
Trial
This weekly serial publication launched early in 2012 (after a pilot issue in August 2011) provides English translations of timely articles selected from domestic Chinese news publications. The digital archive contains 373 issues dating from 2011 to the present. Trial ends: October 31, 2020
New
The backfile of Gentlemen's Quarterly, one of the longest-running, most influential men's magazines. Available through at least July 1, 2021, as part of ProQuest's Evidence-Based Acquisition Program.
Trial
Covers the "complete archive" of Izvestiia (Известия), from its founding in 1917 through present. Trial ends: October 31, 2020
Trial
The Japan News provides access to the English-language daily from the publisher The Yomiuri Shimbun. Covers 1955-present. Trial ends: October 31, 2020
New
Contains texts of over 250 well-known and rare works by dozens of playwrights, beginning with the works of Juana Inés de la Cruz from the late 17th century and progressing into the 21st century with works by Gertrudis Gómez de Avellaneda and contemporary playwrights such as Isidora Aguirra and Sara Joffré. Most materials date between the Chicano Renaissance and the present day.
New
A collection of English-language publications covering Communist, Socialist and Marxist thought, theory and practice. Issues covered include workers’ rights, organized labor, labor strikes, Nazi atrocities, McCarthyism’s rise after WWII, Civil Rights, and modern-day class struggles which give rise to renewed interest in alternative social organizations. Covers 1845-2015. Available through at least July 1, 2021, as part of ProQuest's Evidence-Based Acquisition Program.
New
Brings together archival and reference materials, court cases, first-hand accounts, videos, Supreme Court audio files, research on rehabilitation, and artistic works for researching global trends in mass incarceration and the prison infrastructure of specific countries.
Trial
Contains all obtainable published issues (1930-2014), including issues of the newspaper’s short-lived sister publication Moscow Daily News (1932-1938). Trial ends: October 31, 2020
New
Access full-color issues of National Geographic in this digital magazine archive (1888 to present)
Trial
Contains full-text issues of the Russian illustrated magazine, covering 1923 to 2017. Trial ends: October 31, 2020
Trial
Qwest TV (co-founded by Quincy Jones) is bringing some of the most powerful performances in jazz, soul, funk, classical, and global music to students and educators. All videos are available in HD or 4K. Trial ends: September 30, 2021
Trial
Includes the Academy of Hebrew Language's edition of the Talmud Yerushalmi (searchable by column/row, Mischna, word, subject, and comment) and citations to references to the Talmud Yerushalmi in early commentaries, including medieval rabbinical literature and Geniza fragments. Trial ends: November 17, 2020
New
An online repository of professional development videos for teachers.
Trial
Provides comprehensive statistical information on world religions, Christian denominations, and people groups. Includes a unique chronology of significant Christian and religious events from the birth of Jesus Christ to the year 2000, which can be searched by keyword or year, or browsed by century. Trial ends: November 13, 2020
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...