Skip to main content

Databases A-Z

Choose the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

Database Access

Most items are restricted to current Brandeis students, faculty, and staff.

Unlocked icon designating freely available resource = Freely available resource. Brandeis username and password not required.

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription. Please send your feedback.
New
For over 40 years, Heinemann's African Writers Series published the key texts of modern African literature. This online edition includes fiction, poetry, drama and non-fictional prose, including works by Ama Ata Aidoo, Steve Biko, Buchi Emecheta, Nadine Gordimer, Bessie Head, Doris Lessing, Nelson Mandela, Dambudzo Marechera, Christopher Okigbo, Okot p'Bitek and Tayeb Salih.
New
Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), serves as a repository for a growing selection of psychological tests and measures, including thousands of actual test instruments and test items that are available for immediate download and use in research and teaching.
Trial
Consists of all 1,450 volumes of the CO 5 series of Colonial Office files held at The National Archives in London, plus all extracted documents associated with them. This unique collection of largely manuscript material from the archives of the British government is an invaluable one for students and researchers of all aspects of seventeenth- and eighteenth-century American history and the early-modern Atlantic world. Trial ends: July 16, 2020
Trial
Offers full text plays from new and established writers together with scholarly notes, annotated texts, critical analysis, and audio and video content. Trial ends: May 31, 2020
New
A cloud-based research environment for gathering and analyzing sets of primary sources from Brandeis’ subscriptions to Gale Primary Sources databases. Sets of primary sources can be analyzed using visualization and text analysis tools built into the Gale Digital Scholar Lab.
New
Contains texts of over 250 well-known and rare works by dozens of playwrights, beginning with the works of Juana Inés de la Cruz from the late 17th century and progressing into the 21st century with works by Gertrudis Gómez de Avellaneda and contemporary playwrights such as Isidora Aguirra and Sara Joffré. Most materials date between the Chicano Renaissance and the present day.
New
Brings together archival and reference materials, court cases, first-hand accounts, videos, Supreme Court audio files, research on rehabilitation, and artistic works for researching global trends in mass incarceration and the prison infrastructure of specific countries.
New
Documents the rise of the twentieth-century public health system in the United States through correspondence, reports, pamphlets, ephemera, and more.
Trial
Searches two databases: RIPM Preservation Series: European and North American Music Periodicals and RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals, providing access to nearly 400 music journals and more than 1.15 million full-text pages published between 1760 and 1966. Trial ends: May 31, 2020.
Trial
A collaboration with Rutgers University's Institute of Jazz Studies, RIPM Jazz Periodicals provides full-text access to content from 105 jazz periodicals published between 1914 and 2006. Trial ends: May 31, 2020.
New
Provides current statistical data and comparisons for a wide-ranging and continually updated array of topics, using both publicly accessible and proprietary sources. The chief types of data are related to marketing, demographics, and government information. Sources include market forecasts, dossiers, and industry reports.
New
The Sunday Times was an entirely separate paper from The Times until January 1967, when both papers came under the common ownership of Times Newspapers Ltd. To this day, The Sunday Times remains editorially independent from The Times with its own perspective on the news.
New
An online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times with every page of every issue from 1785 through 1986 (part 1) and through 2012 (part 2).
New
Provides a history of the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives and offers a look at the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society. Includes documents such as diaries, letters, photographs, news clippings, organizational records, and journals, covering the nineteeth and twentieth centuries.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...