Skip to Main Content
“Brandeis

Databases A-Z

Use the "Subjects" drop-down menu to find the best library databases for your research topic or discipline.  Use the "Database Types" menu to filter by categories such as Primary Sources, News & Media, Data & Statistics, etc.

Loading...

Database Access

Most items are restricted to current Brandeis students, faculty, and staff.

Unlocked icon designating freely available resource = Freely available resource. Brandeis username and password not required.

Getting Started

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription. Please send your feedback on trial databases.
Colonial America This link opens in a new window
Trial

Consists of all 1,450 volumes of the CO 5 series of Colonial Office files held at The National Archives in London, plus all extracted documents associated with them. This unique collection of largely manuscript material from the archives of the British government is an invaluable one for students and researchers of all aspects of seventeenth- and eighteenth-century American history and the early-modern Atlantic world. 
Trial ends: March 11, 2024

Please submit feedback via the Trial Evaluation Form.

Constellate This link opens in a new window
New

A platform for learning and performing text analysis, building datasets, and sharing analytics course materials. Users can teach and learn text analytics, build datasets from across multiple content sources, and visualize and analyze their datasets. 

NOTE: When logging in for the first time, you will be prompted to create/register a JSTOR account if you don't have one already.

Local and Independent Ukrainian Newspapers This link opens in a new window
New

Includes local newspapers from over 340 cities and towns—including publications from each of Ukraine’s 27 regions. This collection traces the history of Ukraine during its early period of independence (1990s and early 2000s), and the events leading up to the Orange Revolution (2004–2005). 

Religious Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
New
A searchable archive of magazines devoted to religious topics, spanning 19th-21st centuries. The publications were originally written by/for a wider populace rather than academic/cultural elites and offer insights into, for example, the influence of belief systems on public life, the history of popular religious movements and the means used by religions to gain adherents and communicate their ideologies. A wide variety of religions and denominations are represented, allowing for comparative studies of religions during this period.
RetroNews This link opens in a new window
Trial

The Bibliothèque Nationale de France's platform dedicated to historical printed press. Offers a vast online archive of French and francophone periodicals. Features over 2,000 newspapers, journals, magazines and reviews, published between 1631 and 1951, including the most important titles of the daily press (Le Petit Parisien, Le Journal, Le Matin) and also periodicals of the political spectrum, regional publications, and satirical magazines. 
Trial ends: March 29, 2024

Please submit feedback via the Trial Evaluation Form.

Soviet-Era Ukrainian Newspapers This link opens in a new window
New

A collection of five newspapers, including national newspapers from three cities, covering the early Soviet era of Ukraine’s history. Includes newspapers in both Ukrainian and Russian.

Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...