Brandeis Library News - Research Guides at Brandeis University

Research completed for an undergraduate senior thesis: Dahlia Matanky, “Sacred Sensuality: Exploring Young Orthodox Women’s Understandings and Experiences of Halakhic and Communal Sexual Norms”
"This senior thesis was an exemplary study that integrated a wide range of sources to offer original theorizations of Orthodox women’s sexuality by exploring not only sex education but also their daily lived experiences, including traumatic moments of abuse and sexual violence that were silenced by communal norms." - ChaeRan Freeze, Frances and Max Elkon Chair in Modern Jewish History
Research completed in a University Writing Seminar (UWS): Yolanda Li, “Music as narrative tools: Mapping Character Relationships through Sound in Liz and the Bluebird”>
"Yolanda has produced an outstanding research essay that blends musicological literature and film analysis to support her original arguments. The paper is among the top analytical projects in my class." -James Heazlewood-Dale, Lecturer University Writing Program
Research completed by an undergraduate student outside of UWS: Sarah King, “Presence and Labeling of Queer AFAB Identities in the 1920-30’s”
“Spike adroitly situated Rorabacher and Maegle’s experiences within larger historical patterns of queer existence, demonstrating how self-definition was shaped by both resistance to and partial acceptance of imposed labels. They contextualized the ways in which queer AFAB (Assigned Female At Birth) individuals found both community and concealment.” - Professor Abby Cooper, Assistant Professor in History
Research completed by a graduate student: Francis Sarkodie, “Women's entrepreneurship: A means to poverty alleviation in rural communities in Ghana”
"He is ardent about evaluation and applied research with conceptual and theoretical underpinnings that translate into concrete changes in the lives of households and individuals in deprived and marginalized communities within developing and middle-income societies." - Joseph Assan, Senior Lecturer and Director, MA Program in Sustainable International Development
Community-engaged research, offered in partnership with the Samuels ’63 Center for Community Partnerships and Civic Transformation (COMPACT): Ali Arshad, “Rebuilding Trust in Vaccination: A Rights-Based Approach to Polio Eradication Program?”
"Ali Arshad has unparalleled insight into the politics of polio eradication in Pakistan and his contribution may be life saving for both the inhabitants of Pakistan and international health care provides who devote their lives to this issue." - Kimberly P. Barton, Lecturer in Sociology
Research that makes use of materials in the Brandeis University Archives & Special Collections: Zachary Miller, “A Tradition of Reverence: The Hierarchy of Values in American Religious Liberty Jurisprudence (1878-1962)”
“For unpublished primary sources, I took advantage of archival documents made available by the Brandeis Library. I made a number of trips to the Brandeis Archives wherein I engaged with correspondence and newspaper clippings that I then used to extrapolate larger truths about the topic of my research. I made use of materials already onsite and housed within the Brandeis archives and requested the shipment of archival materials stored off site for perusal. For digital unpublished primary sources, I benefited greatly from the ProQuest Harvard Law School Library Law and Society digitized Collections and the digitized Stephen S. Wise Papers available on ProQuest. Throughout the duration of my thesis work, I met regularly with Research Librarians with proficiencies in Legal Studies and American History to better structure my research. I also made use of the Workshops offered by the Library to assist students with senior thesis research.” - Zachary Miller
Climate change-related research: Alice Brennan, “The Cost of Heat: Exploring the Intersection of State-Level Legislation on Heat Standards and Federal Cooling Subsidies, and their Public Health Implications
“Before this project my research process was very linear but now I understand it as a more complex endeavor. My approach has become much more collaborative which has benefitted the scope and clarity of my thesis. Additionally, I learned that momentum behind research comes naturally when the subject feels consequential and its outcomes can inform real‐world policy. Immersing myself in a topic that blends public health, climate justice, and policy has deepened my expertise and equipped me with a framework for similar future projects.” - Alice Brennan

Congratulations to all of the winners!

Pictured above, from left to right: 2025 Library Research Excellence Prize winners Francis Sarkodie, Sarah King, Ali Arshad, Yolanda Li, Zachary Miller, and Dahlia Matanky

Recent Posts

Congratulations 2025 Library Research Prize Winners

The Brandeis Library's Research Excellence Prize recognizes students who apply sophisticated information literacy skills to the selection, evaluation, and synthesis of sources for a research project. The 2025 winners were selected from a pool of outstanding student submissions in the following categories:Research completed for an undergraduate senior thesis: Dahlia Matanky, “Sacred Sensuality: Exploring Young Orthodox Women’s Understandings and Experiences of Halakhic and Communal Sexual Norms”"This senior thesis was an exemplary study that integrated a wide range of sources to offer original theorizations of Orthodox women’s sexuality by exploring not only sex education but also their daily lived experiences, including traumatic moments of abuse and sexual violence that were silenced by communal norms." - ChaeRan Freeze, Frances and Max Elkon Chair in Modern Jewish HistoryResearch completed in a University Writing Seminar (UWS): Yolanda Li, “Music as narrative tools: Mapping Character Relationships through Sound in Liz and the Bluebird”>"Yolanda has produced an outstanding research essay that blends musicological literature and film analysis to support her original arguments. The paper is among the top analytical projects in my class." -James Heazlewood-Dale, Lecturer University Writing ProgramResearch completed by an undergraduate student outside of UWS: Sarah King, “Presence and Labeling of Queer AFAB Identities in the 1920-30’s” “Spike adroitly situated Rorabacher and Maegle’s experiences within larger historical patterns of queer existence, demonstrating how self-definition was shaped by both resistance to and partial acceptance of imposed labels. They contextualized the ways in which queer AFAB (Assigned Female At Birth) individuals found both community and concealment.” - Professor Abby Cooper, Assistant Professor in HistoryResearch completed by a graduate student: Francis Sarkodie, “Women's entrepreneurship: A means to poverty alleviation in rural communities in Ghana”"He is ardent about evaluation and applied research with conceptual and theoretical underpinnings that translate into concrete changes in the lives of households and individuals in deprived and marginalized communities within developing and middle-income societies." - Joseph Assan, Senior Lecturer and Director, MA Program in Sustainable International DevelopmentCommunity-engaged research, offered in partnership with the Samuels ’63 Center for Community Partnerships and Civic Transformation (COMPACT): Ali Arshad, “Rebuilding Trust in Vaccination: A Rights-Based Approach to Polio Eradication Program?”"Ali Arshad has unparalleled insight into the politics of polio eradication in Pakistan and his contribution may be life saving for both the inhabitants of Pakistan and international health care provides who devote their lives to this issue." - Kimberly P. Barton, Lecturer in SociologyResearch that makes use of materials in the Brandeis University Archives & Special Collections: Zachary Miller, “A Tradition of Reverence: The Hierarchy of Values in American Religious Liberty Jurisprudence (1878-1962)”“For unpublished primary sources, I took advantage of archival documents made available by the Brandeis Library. I made a number of trips to the Brandeis Archives wherein I engaged with correspondence and newspaper clippings that I then used to extrapolate larger truths about the topic of my research. I made use of materials already onsite and housed within the Brandeis archives and requested the shipment of archival materials stored off site for perusal. For digital unpublished primary sources, I benefited greatly from the ProQuest Harvard Law School Library Law and Society digitized Collections and the digitized Stephen S. Wise Papers available on ProQuest. Throughout the duration of my thesis work, I met regularly with Research Librarians with proficiencies in Legal Studies and American History to better structure my research. I also made use of the Workshops offered by the Library to assist students with senior thesis research.” - Zachary MillerClimate change-related research: Alice Brennan, “The Cost of Heat: Exploring the Intersection of State-Level Legislation on Heat Standards and Federal Cooling Subsidies, and their Public Health Implications“Before this project my research process was very linear but now I understand it as a more complex endeavor. My approach has become much more collaborative which has benefitted the scope and clarity of my thesis. Additionally, I learned that momentum behind research comes naturally when the subject feels consequential and its outcomes can inform real‐world policy. Immersing myself in a topic that blends public health, climate justice, and policy has deepened my expertise and equipped me with a framework for similar future projects.” - Alice BrennanCongratulations to all of the winners!Pictured above, from left to right: 2025 Library Research Excellence Prize winners Francis Sarkodie, Sarah King, Ali Arshad, Yolanda Li, Zachary Miller, and Dahlia Matanky...

Exciting news about ebooks and Interlibrary Loan

Patrons can now request some ebooks via Interlibrary Loan. To request an ebook via Interlibrary Loan, search for the title you want in OneSearch after selecting Brandeis and More to the right of the search bar. Once you find the title that you want, click on it, and if it is available as an ebook, you will see a Get an eBook request tile instead of the usual Get a physical copy request tile:Click on Request it. The Request eBook Version form will open up, add a volume number and/or notes if needed, and click Send. That’s all!Ebooks will be supplied as pdf files within two days, and you will receive email notifications when they are ready for viewing and downloading. The ebook files will be available for 30 days, just like digital chapters or journal articles.If you prefer a physical copy of the book, fill out the blank Interlibrary Loan form. You can go the blank form either by clicking the Request a Physical Book with the Blank Form button, or by clicking Interlibrary Loan Form in the menu at the top of the OneSearch page....

Brandeis Library Celebrates National Poetry Month

Celebrate National Poetry Month with Brandeis Library! Join us for Open Mic Night, on Wednesday, April 9, at 7pm, in the Rapaporte Treasure Hall. All in the Brandeis community are encouraged to attend--to read a poem or just listen! Light refreshments will be provided.Visit our book display on Farber 1, around the corner from Starbucks, to pick up a book of poems. Also, check out the April e-book collection in DeisGallery.Check out our online poetry collections! Library databases aren’t just for secondary sources and academic articles. Some of our databases have primary sources and literature, too! Explore Proquest One Literature’s poetry and other literature collections to browse famous works during poetry month!...

Library Research Excellence Prizes

From working with students throughout the year, Brandeis librarians know that many students work on great research papers and projects! We are excited to offer Library Research Excellence Prizes for the ninth year. These prizes recognize students who apply sophisticated information literacy skills to the selection, evaluation, and synthesis of sources for a research project. We encourage undergraduate and graduate students to apply, and we encourage faculty to promote the prizes to their students! For the 2025 prizes, we will accept work that was produced between May 14, 2024, and May 13, 2025. The application deadline is May 13, 2025. For more information, including submission forms, please visit the Library Research Excellence Prizes webpage....