Brandeis Library News - Research Guides at Brandeis University

In celebration of I Am Global Week, November 16, 2024 - November 23, 2024, Brandeis Library is highlighting our resources with content from all over the world.

The Robert D. Farber University Archives & Special Collections houses Brandeis University's unique and rare primary sources, including materials from countries around the world, such as:

Yakov Borisovich Kantorovich papers: The collection comprises the personal diaries and correspondence of Yakov Borisovich Kantorovich written during the siege of Leningrad (1941-1943). All documents are in Russian.
Rare Non-western book collection: The collection consists of rare books from all over the world, including two illustrated Qurʼan from the 19th century, and a piece of papyrus from 120 AD.
French Revolution pamphlets: This collection contains 94 publications, mostly of the French Revolutionary period. Among the numerous prominent authors included in this collection are Thomas Paine, Jacques Necker, Mirabeau, and Louis XVI.
Spanish Civil War Periodical Collection: The Spanish Civil War periodical collection contains newsletters, newspapers, bulletins, and magazines documenting the Spanish Civil War. Over 300 titles are represented. Publications originate in Spain, various European and American nations including the United States, and they detail the politics, economics, and military and social effects and policies of the Spanish Civil War on Spain and the international community. Materials are in Spanish, English, French, German, Yiddish, Catalan, Galician, Basque, Czech, Russian and Dutch. Some titles contain more than one language. For more information, please see our Collection Essay.

The Library’s Databases A-Z list includes databases with news and scholarly content from all over the world. Recently added resources include:

Soviet-Era Ukrainian Newspapers A collection of five newspapers, including national newspapers from three cities, covering the early Soviet era of Ukraine’s history. Includes newspapers in both Ukrainian and Russian.
Local and Independent Ukrainian Newspapers Includes local newspapers from over 340 cities and towns—including publications from each of Ukraine’s 27 regions. This collection traces the history of Ukraine during its early period of independence (1990s and early 2000s), and the events leading up to the Orange Revolution (2004–2005).
Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa - The liberation of Southern Africa and the dismantling of the Apartheid regime was one of the major political developments of the 20th century, with far-reaching consequences for people throughout Africa and around the globe. This collection focuses on the complex and varied liberation struggles in the region, with an emphasis on Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe. It brings together materials from various archives and libraries throughout the world documenting colonial rule, dispersion of exiles, international intervention, and the worldwide networks that supported successive generations of resistance within the region.
People's Daily - Renmin Ribao (1946-Present) - This database provides searchable, downloadable access to the entire run of the official Chinese-language newspaper of the Central Committee of the Chinese Communist Party from 1946 to present.
World Heritage Sites: Africa - Links visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage sites. Includes materials relevant to African studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art history, Diaspora studies, folklore and literature, geography, and history, as well as geomatics, advanced visual and spatial technologies, historic preservation, and urban planning. The collection is also a tool for experts and professionals engaged in the conservation and management of cultural heritage sites.

The Library Recreational Reading Collection, located on Goldfarb Level 1 across from the Information & Borrowing Desk, houses popular books and picture books in languages most commonly spoken by our students. You can browse this Recreational Reading Collection online and help us grow the collection by emailing suggested titles to libacq@brandeis.edu.

Recent Posts

Fibre Friday at the MakerLab In-Person

Fibre Fridays, 3-5pm on FridaysIf you’re working on a sewing/fibres/textiles project and want some advice, this new service is for you! Take advantage of working in a collaborative space with an in-room expert who is ready to answer questions. No appointments are necessary. Drop by to ask questions, receive advice and feedback, or just work on your own!Check the library calendar for upcoming dates....

New and updated finding aids: Doris Edwards and Jewish Resistance collections

The Robert D. Farber University Archives and Special Collections is pleased to announce the availability of two collections related to WWII and Nazi Germany:The Doris Edwards collection was recently processed by Caroline Littlewood and is now open to researchers. This collection of personal and family records of Doris Edwards (née Dorle Amalie Sara Lissa, b. 1929) was organized to document her family's life in Germany, their escape from Nazi Germany and eventual reunion in the United States, and their postwar life in the United States, including Doris' genealogy research and trip to Germany in the early 2000s.The finding aid for the Jewish Resistance collection was recently updated to include an inventory and more detailed collection description. The collection consists of pamphlets, publications, journals, periodicals, and artifacts, all related to activism and resistance surrounding WWII.Please contact Chloe Gerson, Reference and Instruction Archivist, to learn more about these and other collections. ...

Library Celebrates I am Global Week

In celebration of I Am Global Week, November 16, 2024 - November 23, 2024, Brandeis Library is highlighting our resources with content from all over the world.The Robert D. Farber University Archives & Special Collections houses Brandeis University's unique and rare primary sources, including materials from countries around the world, such as:Yakov Borisovich Kantorovich papers: The collection comprises the personal diaries and correspondence of Yakov Borisovich Kantorovich written during the siege of Leningrad (1941-1943). All documents are in Russian.Rare Non-western book collection: The collection consists of rare books from all over the world, including two illustrated Qurʼan from the 19th century, and a piece of papyrus from 120 AD.French Revolution pamphlets: This collection contains 94 publications, mostly of the French Revolutionary period. Among the numerous prominent authors included in this collection are Thomas Paine, Jacques Necker, Mirabeau, and Louis XVI.Spanish Civil War Periodical Collection: The Spanish Civil War periodical collection contains newsletters, newspapers, bulletins, and magazines documenting the Spanish Civil War. Over 300 titles are represented. Publications originate in Spain, various European and American nations including the United States, and they detail the politics, economics, and military and social effects and policies of the Spanish Civil War on Spain and the international community. Materials are in Spanish, English, French, German, Yiddish, Catalan, Galician, Basque, Czech, Russian and Dutch. Some titles contain more than one language. For more information, please see our Collection Essay.The Library’s Databases A-Z list includes databases with news and scholarly content from all over the world. Recently added resources include:Soviet-Era Ukrainian Newspapers A collection of five newspapers, including national newspapers from three cities, covering the early Soviet era of Ukraine’s history. Includes newspapers in both Ukrainian and Russian.Local and Independent Ukrainian Newspapers Includes local newspapers from over 340 cities and towns—including publications from each of Ukraine’s 27 regions. This collection traces the history of Ukraine during its early period of independence (1990s and early 2000s), and the events leading up to the Orange Revolution (2004–2005). Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa - The liberation of Southern Africa and the dismantling of the Apartheid regime was one of the major political developments of the 20th century, with far-reaching consequences for people throughout Africa and around the globe. This collection focuses on the complex and varied liberation struggles in the region, with an emphasis on Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe. It brings together materials from various archives and libraries throughout the world documenting colonial rule, dispersion of exiles, international intervention, and the worldwide networks that supported successive generations of resistance within the region.People's Daily - Renmin Ribao (1946-Present) - This database provides searchable, downloadable access to the entire run of the official Chinese-language newspaper of the Central Committee of the Chinese Communist Party from 1946 to present.World Heritage Sites: Africa - Links visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage sites. Includes materials relevant to African studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art history, Diaspora studies, folklore and literature, geography, and history, as well as geomatics, advanced visual and spatial technologies, historic preservation, and urban planning. The collection is also a tool for experts and professionals engaged in the conservation and management of cultural heritage sites.The Library Recreational Reading Collection, located on Goldfarb Level 1 across from the Information & Borrowing Desk, houses popular books and picture books in languages most commonly spoken by our students. You can browse this Recreational Reading Collection online and help us grow the collection by emailing suggested titles to libacq@brandeis.edu....

Additions to the Lemberg Center for the Study of Violence archives

Archivist Caroline Littlewood recently processed additions to the Lemberg Center for the Study of Violence records in Brandeis Archives and Special Collections. The Lemberg Center studied race-related civil disorder and social unrest in the late 1960s. Their records include original research material and collected resources documenting racial attitudes, inequalities, and violence in American cities. The updated Lemberg Center finding aid is available online, as is an essay about the collection.Please contact Chloe Gerson, Reference and Instruction Archivist, to learn more about these and other collections. The Archives and Special Collections Reading Room is located on Level 2 of the library and is open Monday-Wednesday from 10am- 4pm, with the exception of staff holidays....