Brandeis Library News - Research Guides at Brandeis University

Brandeis Library News

Finals Stressbusters at the Library

12/06/2024

No Subjects

dogs, origami, art supplies and bracelet making supplies

As we approach finals period, the Library is here to support you!

De-Stress Events & Activities

Stop by the library to de-stress and unwind. Events and activities begin December 8th and include:

Therapy Dogs:
Thursday, December 12, 1-2pm
Monday, December 16, 12-1:30pm
Tuesday, December 17, 1-2pm
Wednesday, December 18, 1-2pm
Bracelet Making:
Wednesday, December 11, noon -3pm
Saturday, December 14, noon-3pm
Collaborative Art
Origami and more!

Extended hours, December 11 - 20

Monday 7:30am - 2am
Tuesday 7:30am - 2am
Wednesday 7:30am - 2am
Thursday 7:30am - 2am
Friday 7:30am - 12:00am
Saturday 9:00am - 12:00am
Sunday 9:00am - 2am
View more hours

By Month

March 2025

January 2025

December 2024

November 2024

October 2024

August 2024

July 2024

June 2024

May 2024

Recent Posts

Brandeis Library Celebrates National Poetry Month

Celebrate National Poetry Month with Brandeis Library!Join us for Open Mic Night, on Wednesday, April 9, at 7pm, in the Rapaporte Treasure Hall. All in the Brandeis community are encouraged to attend--to read a poem or just listen! Light refreshments will be provided.Visit our book display on Farber 1, around the corner from Starbucks, to pick up a book of poems. Also, check out the April e-book collection in DeisGallery.Check out our online poetry collections! Library databases aren’t just for secondary sources and academic articles. Some of our databases have primary sources and literature, too! Explore Proquest One Literature’s poetry and other literature collections to browse famous works during poetry month!...

Library Research Excellence Prizes

From working with students throughout the year, Brandeis librarians know that many students work on great research papers and projects! We are excited to offer Library Research Excellence Prizes for the ninth year. These prizes recognize students who apply sophisticated information literacy skills to the selection, evaluation, and synthesis of sources for a research project. We encourage undergraduate and graduate students to apply, and we encourage faculty to promote the prizes to their students! For the 2025 prizes, we will accept work that was produced between May 14, 2024, and May 13, 2025. The application deadline is May 13, 2025. For more information, including submission forms, please visit the Library Research Excellence Prizes webpage....

New Digitized Collections Available in DeisGallery

Brandeis Library is pleased to announce the completion of three new digital collections available in DeisGallery:The Brandeis National Committee materials collection contains materials related to the Brandeis National Committee (formerly known as the Brandeis University National Women's Committee), include such materials as conference programs, membership brochures, and other ephemera dating from the 1960s through the 1990s. This collection provides insight into the founding days of Brandeis and the role the Brandeis National Committee had in fundraising for the university and the library. The Theresienstadt concentration camp documents collection contains nearly 400 bulletins issued by the Jewish self-government under German command at Theresienstadt. These include Tagesbefehl (Orders of the Day), Mitteilungen der Judischen Selbstverwaltung (“Announcements from the Jewish self-administration”), and 20 Rundschreiben (usually written for officials or elders but not the general prisoner population). Bulletins contain announcements, commands, rules, and regulations issued by SS leadership, as well as punishments for rule violations. Some bulletins contain lists of arrival and departure of internees. Others list deceased individuals by name and birth year. There are also a few unnumbered announcements relating to food, barracks, transport, or deaths. They date from January 5, 1942, to September 14, 1944. The collection was donated to Brandeis University in 1973 by Emma Goldscheider Fuchs, a Holocaust survivor who was held at the camp along with her first husband and two children. Fuchs’s husband, Alfred Goldscheider, managed to collect and hide the documents while working in a minor administrative post within the Jewish Self-Administration of the camp. These documents are likely to interest students of the history of the Holocaust, of the history and culture of German and Czech Jewry, and those who wish to better understand the lived experience of the Nazi genocide of European Jews.Over 200 newly cataloged and digitized items from the Louis Dembitz Brandeis collection are now available as well. The Louis Dembitz Brandeis collection consists of approximately 150 linear feet of correspondence, documents, photographs, personal effects, and more. In addition to providing a rich resource for those interested in both the personal and public lives of Louis D. Brandeis, this collection offers a wealth of material on American legal history in general, the Progressive and Zionist movements, and the U.S. Supreme Court. The majority of the digital materials available here — primarily Louis Brandeis’s letters to his wife, Alice Goldmark — were added to the Louis Dembitz Brandeis collection by the three great-granddaughters of Louis Brandeis: Susan Popkin Cahn, Anne Brandeis Popkin, and Louisa Brandeis Popkin. Digitization was funded by the Brandeis National Committee's "Legacy of Louis" campaign.Please contact archives@brandeis.edu to learn more about these and other collections and to view physical items from these collections. Archives and Special Collections is open for research appointments, both virtually and in-person. Pictured: Undated brochure and reservation card from a performance of Eriv Bruhn's "Swan Lake" featuring Rudolph Nureyev, sponsored by the Brandeis University National Women's Committee Atlanta Chapter. ...

Love Data Week, February 10-14, 2025

In honor of Love Data Week (February 10-14, 2025), the Library is highlighting our data services and resources. We support Brandeis students, faculty, and other researchers with a range of resources for working with data to make your research and teaching successful. We offer help with:Data management and sharingUsing GIS and geospatial dataFinding and accessing dataUsing tools and software for working with dataVisualizing dataCheck out our:Upcoming workshops. Topics include R, Python, Git and GitHub, and Atlas.ti.Consultation servicesSupport for Research Data ManagementLibrary databases that support research with data and statisticsThe Library has also recently added access to the All of Us Research Hub! The All of Us Research Hub, a program led by the National Institutes of Health, is one of the largest longitudinal cohort studies that stores health data from diverse participants across the United States. It allows researchers to access data and tools to conduct health research. Some of their datasets include Electronic Health Records, Biosamples, Bioassays, Mobile Health Data, Physical Measurements, and Surveys. Brandeis University has signed a Data Use and Registration Agreement with this program, allowing our researchers to register and access the All of Us Workbench. ...