Schusterman Center for Israel Studies Research Guide

In 1989, Israel’s first national film school was established in Jerusalem. Many of the country’s leading film and television creators have graduated from the Jerusalem Sam Spiegel Film School. They transformed the local industry and were the engine for its renaissance over the past 30 years. Now, on its 30th anniversary, a jury of 100 major film personas selected the 30 best short films in Sam Spiegel's history.

Dreams of a Nation is a Columbia University based film project committed to the preservation and promotion of Palestinian cinema.

Ergo Media’s Israel Film Collection on DVD includes many of the great classics of Israeli cinema like HILL 24 DOESN'T ANSWER (1955), THEY WERE TEN (1961) and THE SUMMER OF AVIYA (1989), along with many contemporary feature films, documentaries, short features and student films.

The Israel Film Archive is the official institute responsible for the collection and preservation of tens of thousands of Israeli and international films. The largest film archive in the Middle East, the place holds over 30,000 screening prints, 20,000 video cassettes, and thousands of negatives of Israeli films. Has historical and contemporary films available to watch online, although most have only Hebrew subtitles.

1980s English language interview program on the Public Broadcasting Service. Among the program's guests were Yitzchak Rabin, Shimon Peres, Ariel Sharon, Moshe Arens, Yitzhak Shamir, Haim Herzog, Yitzhak Navon, and Mota Gur.

Jewish Cinema Scholar and leading authority on Jewish Film, Eric Goldman, hosts this exclusive JBS series profiling writers, directors and actors. Many relate to Israeli film.

The Axelrod Newsreel Collection is a unique collection of newsreels filmed by pioneer of Israeli film Nathan Axelrod between the years 1927 and 1958. Axelrod enthusiastically documented, in approximately 450 newsreels, with an average length of 10 minutes per newsreel, the establishment and development of Jewish settlements throughout Eretz Israel, the British mandatory presence in Palestine, famous figures from politics, culture and arts, holidays and leisure events, as well as countless and priceless scenes from everyday life. A selection of these newsreels can be found on their YouTube channel.

The National Center for Jewish Film is a unique, independent nonprofit motion picture archive, distributor, resource center and exhibitor. NCJF's ongoing mission is the collection, preservation and exhibition of films with artistic and educational value relevant to the Jewish experience. Many of the films in the collection are Israeli, or relate to Zionist themes. Contact the center to order films for personal or classroom use.

The virtual cinema contains films documenting an array of subjects such as life in the British mandate before the foundation of Israel, Jewish communities around the world and a plethora of other subjects as they were seen through the eye of the camera lens. The virtual cinema is constantly being updated, with new films being added to the collection for public view.