Schusterman Center for Israel Studies Research Guide
The Schusterman Center for Israel Studies, founded in 2007, is dedicated to promoting exemplary teaching and scholarship in Israeli history, politics, culture, and society at Brandeis University and beyond.
To study Israel means to engage with a wide range of opinions on important topics, including ones that are contentious, and maybe even offensive. Resources on this site represent a variety of academic and political opinions. They do not necessarily reflect the views of the Schusterman Center for Israel Studies or Brandeis University. We encourage users to approach each resource critically. Remember that it may not be credible in all respects, nor does it represent the last word on any topic.
Examining the Conflict
The "Green Line": a section of the map of the Armistice Lines with Jordan with handwritten notations, part of a
secret agreement with King Abdallah, 23 March 1949. Courtesy of the Israel State Archives.
Original source material from the British Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through to the Black September war of 1970-71. Documents the politics, administration, wars and diplomacy of the Palestine Mandate, the Independence of Israel and the Arab-Israeli conflict.
In the summer of 1967, just after the Six-Day War brought the West Bank and Gaza Strip under Israeli control, the Israeli Central Bureau of Statistics (ICBS) supervised a census in these territories. The ICBS prepared seven volumes of reports based on this enumeration—the first modern census reports on the Palestinian population.
The project contains a section called "The Middle East 1916-2001 : A Documentary Record." The best place to find diplomatic primary sources related to the Israeli-Palestinian conflict, such as treaties, UN resolutions, and similar documents.
A browsable collection arranged by country of Middle Eastern maps from the Perry Castaneda Library Map Collection at the University of Texas at Austin. Most of the maps were created by the CIA and are available in a variety of sizes, all of which are marked. Many maps of Israel and the West Bank are included.
The Museum of the Palestinian People is here to tell our stories; stories that encompass the rich history, vibrant arts and culture, of a people who thrive even in the face of adversity. Our stories are many, our hearts are one.
The Nakba Archive is an oral history collective established in Lebanon in 2002. Since its inception, the Archive has recorded over 650 video interviews with first generation Palestinian refugees in Lebanon about their recollections of life in Palestine and the events that led to their displacement.
This platform offers free and full access to the Palestine Chronology in a digitized format. Since the beginning of the Israeli invasion of Lebanon in June 1982, the Institute for Palestine Studies has chronicled daily political and military events surrounding the Palestine Question. These day-by-day summaries are based on Palestinian, Arab, Israeli and international sources. Prior to August 2018, the chronology was published quarterly in the Journal of Palestine Studies. It is now updated monthly on this platform.
In the site we go through the core issues at the heart of the conflict, the world views that the populations hold, the unwritten history of insider religious mediation and finally offer some detailed sequenced steps that the parties and US should take.
The Washington Institute's interactive project, Settlements and Solutions, is a first-of-its-kind web-based geographic database that provides users engaged with the issue of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict a reliable source to explore Israeli settlements in the West Bank. Users of this mapping tool can explore settlement geography and demography and decide for themselves whether, given the circumstances on the ground, a two-state solution is still possible.
Ever since it was established, UNRWA has recorded all aspects of the life and history of Palestine refugees through film and photography. This has led to a rich audiovisual archive, containing more than 430,000 negatives, 10,000 prints, 85,000 slides, 75 films and 730 videocassettes.
Hosted by the Israel Policy Forum, this page offers a guided experience exploring the history and background of settlements, how they threaten prospects for two states, and to what extent they have succeeded in blocking a two-state outcome. Utilizing data and detailed maps from a report by Dr. Col. (res.) Shaul Arieli, this page illustrates the reality on the ground in a digestible format.