General course catalogs: look at past catalogs for historic maps of campus
Brandeis Review: skim past issues for articles related to architecture on campus
Brandeis Magazine: skim past issues for articles related to architecture on campus
Brandeis Bulletin (1949-1970): skim past issues for articles related to architecture on campus
The Justice (March 1949-current): skim past issues for articles related to architecture on campus
Building Brandeis: Style and Function of a University [online exhibit]
Remembering Ford & Sydeman Halls [online exhibit]
The following books are available both in the library and online or electronically by request:
Host at Last (A. Sachar)
A Foundation for Learning: Planning the Campus of Brandeis University [also available digitally as a PDF upon request]
Brandeis under construction: an architectural exhibition commemorating the 25th anniversary of Brandeis University: [held at the] Rose Art Museum, May 13-October 1, 1972 [also available on the Internet Archive]
From the Beginning: a Picture history of the first four decades of Brandeis University [also available on the Internet Archive]
The following books are only available in the Archives Reading Room (Monday-Friday, 10am-4pm):
Building a Campus: an architectural celebration of Brandeis University’s 50th anniversary (G. Bernstein)
Report on the first six master plan building and equipment projects (Brandeis University)
Theater and the University: the dedication of the Nate B. and Frances Spingold Theater Arts Center, June 11, 1965 (L. Gillenson)
The Nate B. and Frances Spingold Theater Arts Center at Brandeis University (Brandeis University)
Mandel Center for the Humanities: dedicated October 26, 2010 (Brandeis University)
Library dedication: Brandeis University, November 8, 1959 (Brandeis University)
The following links lead to finding aids (an inventory for each collection). Material in these collections has not been digitized, but can be viewed in the Reading Room (Monday-Friday, 10am-4pm):
Brandeis University Architecture collection: Items include photographs, articles, maps, architectural plans and sketches, exhibit cards, and narrative descriptions. This collection represents a compilation of materials from a variety of sources concerning the architecture of individual buildings and the general campus. This collection also contains interior and exterior plans and sketches of individual buildings, architectural plans and sketches for the general campus, topographical maps of the area and Waltham, and assorted other plans and sketches relating to Brandeis architecture.
Abram L. Sachar Brandeis University Presidential papers: The materials concern the activities of the Sachar presidential administration at Brandeis University. Materials include correspondence, memos, meeting minutes, reports, notes, and publicity. ***Some material in this collection may be restricted
Abram L. Sachar Brandeis University Chancellorship Papers: Abram L. Sachar served as Chancellor, and later Chancellor Emeritus, of Brandeis University from the time of his retirement from the presidency of the university in 1968 until his death in 1993...The materials in this collection document Sachar's involvement with Brandeis during his years as Chancellor of the university. ****Some material in this collection may be restricted
Graduate School of Arts and Sciences: The Graduate School of Arts and Sciences was established in 1953, when the Board of Trustees authorized graduate programs in the areas of Chemistry, Music, Psychology, and Near Eastern and Judaic Studies.***Some material in this collection may be restricted
Board of Trustees: The materials pertain to general administrative information, including bylaws of the Board and financial reports concerning the University. ****Some material in this collection may be restricted
Board Of Trustees: Individual Members: Files in this collection were created from 1936 through 2010. Materials include correspondence, photographs, reports, meeting minutes, and newspaper clippings. ***Some material in this collection may be restricted
Board Of Trustee: George Alpert papers: Materials in the Buildings, Facilities, and Land series pertain to the acquisition, planning, and maintenance of campus buildings, facilities, utilities, and land lots. Documents include correspondence, memoranda, meeting minutes, reports, contract bids, construction estimates, architectural drawings, maps, plans, blueprints, deeds, agreements, news releases, journal and newspaper articles and photographs. Most documents pertain to Brandeis University, although some relate to Middlesex University...***Some material in this collection may be restricted
David Berkowitz papers: Berkowitz was among the original group of 13 faculty at Brandeis University. He was hired in 1948 as Associate Professor of History and Political Science...Shortly after arriving at Brandeis, Berkowitz assumed the administrative posts of Assistant to the President (1948-1952) and Director of University Planning (1949-1952?)...The University Planning and Administration series includes materials related to Berkowitz's contributions to university planning and administration. Topics covered include plans for campus development and construction of new buildings, faculty compensation and other financial matters, and a broad range of issues dealt with by Berkowitz when serving as the Executive Assistant to the President. Materials include correspondence, memoranda, meeting minutes, financial projections, architectural drawings and contracts, photographs, newsclippings, and several others. ***Some material in this collection may be restricted
Gerald Bernstein collection: Bernstein was Professor of Fine Arts at Brandeis from 1967-2000, where he taught predominantly taught architectural history...He edited the most important book to date on Brandeis University architecture called Building a Campus: An Architectural Celebration of Brandeis University’s 50th Anniversary...This collection contains materials related to Brandeis buildings and its architecture.
Brandeis Three Chapels collection: The collection houses materials related to the Three Chapels at Brandeis University, including their dedication and re-dedication ceremonies. In addition to programs, event brochures, news clippings, newsletters, memos, and announcements, the collection contains photographs of the Three Chapels during and after their construction.
University Photography collection: Over 100,000 images documenting the history of campus, including all of the buildings on campus
University History collection: Includes material related to the Castle and various dedications/plaques from campus
The following items have not been digitized, but can be viewed in the Reading Room (Monday-Friday, 10am-4pm):
Architecture and Planning at Brandeis University (A. Lorenz)
The architecture of Brandeis University or "How I spent my summer vacation" by Max Abramovitz (M. Hauptman)
Unlocking doors to the past and future : an architectural and social exploration of the Irving and Edyth Usen Castle (A. Finstein)
The Usdan Student Centre will be erected on this site: psychoanalysis, architecture and culture (L. Jacobson)
Brandeis University's campus: a play between the traditional and modern (T. Renwick)
Society of Architectural Historians--Archipedia: Includes entries for several Brandeis buildings, including the Rose Art Museum and the Three Chapels