Research Guides: Researching Waltham: Resources for Research, Teaching, and Learning: Literature and Search Engines

Expanding Your Search

Beyond the recommended literature provided above, check out these community resources that might be helpful in broadening your search or may lead you on a new, unexpected path.

Cemeteries in Waltham
The City of Waltham's website has information, maps, and searchable online records concerning the city's two cemeteries: Mount Feake, located near Brandeis' Charles River Apartments, and Grove Hill, the burial site of Waltham's first Puritan settlers.
Digital Public Library of America
Digitized materials from libraries, archives and museums around the country.
Digital Commonwealth
This website has a collection of maps, books, photographs, audio recordings and more that have been digitized by libraries, historical societies, and archives across the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.
The Charles River Museum of Industry and Innovation
This museum maintains exhibits focused on industrial history of Waltham and surrounding areas, highlighting technology and innovation. They also provide educational programming and host community and cultural events.
City of Waltham
This is the homepage for the City of Waltham. Learn more about the city's government, news, and community events.
Massachusetts Cultural Resource Information System
The Massachusetts Historical Commission has compiled a database containing information about historical buildings, properties, and areas within the state.
National Archives Catalogue
The National Archives Catalogue is a repository of records maintained by the federal government. Here, you are able to find ancestry, military, business records and more related to Waltham and its surrounding areas.
National Register of Historic Places
The National Register of Historic Places has a comprehensive database featuring the country's official list of places that are being historically preserved. When you search for properties within this database, Waltham, MA is home to hundreds of hits.
Waltham City Directories, Annual Listings (Voting Lists), and Waltham High Yearbooks
All of these resources mentioned above have been digitized and made searchable by the Waltham Public Library. This includes City Directories through 1990 (except 1903), as well as yearbooks. The Annual Listings are available from 1867 to 1973, with a few years missing. The Waltham Public Library also maintains print directories of Waltham, Watertown, and Boston.
Waltham Historical Society
The Historical Society, located on Moody Street, hosts archives and exhibits centered around the history of Waltham and works to preserve buildings of historical meaning within the city.
Waltham News Tribune
The Waltham News Tribune is the local newspaper in the city providing the community with the most recent news updates.
Waltham Public Library
The Waltham Public Library provides ample historical resources about the city including yearbooks, maps, genealogy resources, and extensive archives.
Waltham Public Library: Civic Engagement & Social Justice
The Waltham Public Library has provided a list of links to a variety of organizations located in Waltham and greater Massachusetts concerning the local government, resources for youth and seniors, social services, religious partners, and more.

Newspaper Coverage

Boston Globe (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Full-text, full-image, digitized issues of the Boston Globe, 1872-1997.
Boston Globe (1980-Present) This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of the Boston Globe, 1980 to present.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, magazines, and journals from American ethnic and native communities, covering 1960 to the present.

The Justice
The Justice is the longest running and most frequently published student newspaper. It is a great resource for researching Brandeis events, student reactions to current events, and university news from a student perspective.
The Justice Archives
A library research guide to finding past issues of The Justice, Brandeis University's longest running student newspaper.

U.S. Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Features newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites from across the U.S., from the 1980s to present.

Library Databases

For access to other data sets pertaining to the City of Waltham or other areas of Massachusetts, check out the collection of links below.

Dissertations and Theses @ Brandeis University This link opens in a new window
ProQuest has compiled dissertations and theses conducted at Brandeis, some of which are related directly to the community of Waltham.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Collection of research reports containing key statistics, industry conditions, market characteristics, industry performance, external market drivers, key success factors, and 5-year revenue forecasts for each US industry. IBIS Covers over 700 US industries; 192 China Industries and 75 of the largest industries world-wide. Also contains business environment reports. Updated throughout the year.
Immigration Law & Policy in the U.S. This link opens in a new window
Historical documents and legislation related to immigration in the United States as well as current hearings, debates and recent developments in immigration law.
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window
ICPSR is the world's largest collection of digital social science data. Find qualitative and quantitative datasets, accompanying codebooks, publication lists and more. Formats include SPSS, Stata and Excel. Access to this resource from off campus requires that users initially register for an account while on campus.

Working/studying remotely? Request access to ICPSR data and resources by contacting icpsr-help@umich.edu. When you do, please let them know that you are a current student, faculty, or staff member at Brandeis University, and be sure to use your @brandeis.edu email address.

Researching Waltham: Resources for Research, Teaching, and Learning

Recommended Reading

Expanding Your Search

Newspaper Coverage

Library Databases