Research Guides: FA 58A: Politics on a Pedestal: Statues; Sculpture; Monuments: American historical newspapers &amp; primary sources

Additional primary sources

Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500–1926 This link opens in a new window
An online collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s. The collection includes original accounts of discovery and exploration, pioneering and westward expansion, the U.S. Civil War and other military actions, Native Americans, slavery and abolition, and religious history.
American History, 1493-1945 This link opens in a new window
Collection of digitized primary source materials covering American history from 1493 to 1945. Includes unique manuscripts, along with maps, engravings, posters, broadsides, and pamphlets covering colonial America through World War II.

Search Tips

If you are using a database with an Advanced Search form, try using the Advanced Search features to refine your search.

Think about what terms that might have been used to describe your topic during the time period. For example: the name of a specific person or organization or even a term that wouldn't be used today.

In addition to searching, try browsing these collections to learn about sources that you wouldn't have necessarily thought of searching for.

Access to major historical U.S. newspapers

When looking for historical newspaper articles, remember to look for articles published during the historical time period under study.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Includes the American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857-1922), American Israelite (1854-2000), Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945), Atlanta Daily World‎ (1931-2010), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Baltimore Sun‎ (1837-1996), Boston Globe (1872-1990), Chicago Tribune (1849-1998), Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953), Cleveland Call and Post‎ (1934-2010), Communist Historical Newspaper Collection‎ (1919-2013), Jerusalem Post (1932-2008), Jewish Advocate (1905-1990), Jewish Exponent (1887-1990), Korea Times‎ (1956-2016), Leftist Newspapers and Periodicals (1845-2015), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), Los Angeles Times (1881-1997), Michigan Chronicle‎ (1939-2010), Minneapolis Star Tribune‎ (1867-2001), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), New York Times (1851-2018), Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2010), Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2010), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010), St. Petersburg Times/Tampa Bay Times (1901-2009), Times of India (1838-2010), Wall Street Journal (1889-2010), and Washington Post (1877-2006)
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, magazines, and journals from American ethnic and native communities, covering 1960 to the present.

Chronicling America: America's Historical Newspapers
Digitized American newspapers, 1836-1963.

Historical newspaper and magazine collections

Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
Features historical American periodicals, including Civil War newspapers, 19th century African American newspapers, Godey's Lady's Book (1830-1880), and The Pennsylvania Gazette (1728-1800).
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Includes 19th century newspapers from a range of regions throughout the United States.
Eight Centuries This link opens in a new window
A vast scholarly database for finding published material from the 12th century through 1930.
America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1876 This link opens in a new window
Contains full text copies of more than historical American newspapers printed between 1690 and 1876, focusing largely on the 18th century. Brandeis has access to series 1.
American Periodicals (1740-1940) This link opens in a new window
Includes special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals.