AAAS/WGS 122A: Carceral Studies

Search millions of journal articles and selected books in this interdisciplinary database. Especially strong in anthropology, economics, political science and sociology. 1951-present.

A fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies covering scholarly essays, periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and much more. Includes the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, the Black Studies Periodicals Database (previously known as International Index to Black Periodicals), and Black Literature Index.

Provides full-text access to scholarly journals, newspapers, books, and other materials on lesbian, bisexual, gay, and trans (LGBT) topics. Database includes a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,400 terms.

Scholarly journals, newspapers, books, and other materials on topics related to womens studies, gender studies, and feminist research. Coverage: 1972 - present.

Find journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers from sociology and related fields. 1952-present.

Journals, magazines, trade publications and books covering a variety of art and architecture subjects including art and art history, antiques, interior and landscape design, and more; also includes a large image collection.

Brings together archival and reference materials, court cases, first-hand accounts, videos, Supreme Court audio files, research on rehabilitation, and artistic works for researching global trends in mass incarceration and the prison infrastructure of specific countries.

American Prison Newspapers will bring together hundreds of these periodicals from across the country into one collection that will represent penal institutions of all kinds, with special attention paid to women's-only institutions. Development of the collection began in July 2020 and will continue through 2021, with new content added regularly.

Image database featuring images from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists; the most comprehensive image resource available for educational and scholarly use, with many rare and important collections available nowhere else.

Newspapers, magazines, and journals from American ethnic and native communities, covering 1960 to the present.

Includes newspapers and newswires from Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Covers 1980-present.

U.S. Hispanic Newsstream offers access to the largest collection of leading Hispanic newspapers, news wires, websites and blogs in full text from U.S. publishers in both Spanish and English including El Diario/La Prensa (New York City), La Opinión (Los Angeles), La Prensa (San Antonio) and El Mundo (Cambridge, Mass.).

Includes the American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857-1922), American Israelite (1854-2000), Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945), Atlanta Daily World‎ (1931-2010), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Baltimore Sun‎ (1837-1996), Boston Globe (1872-1990), Chicago Tribune (1849-1998), Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953), Cleveland Call and Post‎ (1934-2010), Communist Historical Newspaper Collection‎ (1919-2013), Jerusalem Post (1932-2008), Jewish Advocate (1905-1990), Jewish Exponent (1887-1990), Korea Times‎ (1956-2016), Leftist Newspapers and Periodicals (1845-2015), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), Los Angeles Times (1881-1997), Michigan Chronicle‎ (1939-2010), Minneapolis Star Tribune‎ (1867-2001), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), New York Times (1851-2018), Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2010), Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2010), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010), St. Petersburg Times/Tampa Bay Times (1901-2009), Times of India (1838-2010), Wall Street Journal (1889-2010), and Washington Post (1877-2006)

Collection of African newspapers from the 19th and early 20th centuries. Features English and foreign-language titles. This collection includes African newspapers from both the World Newspaper Archive and the British Library Collection.

Collection of historical Latin American newspapers, 1805-1922. Titles in Spanish, English, and Portuguese.