Research Guides: JOUR 130b: Covering Crises from the Pandemic to Climate: Academic & Gov Sources

Congressional Research Service (CRS)

The CRS, a division of the Library of Congress, provides policy and legal analysis to representatives and senators in Congress. CRS reports are renown for authoritative, objective, and non-partisan research but are not directly released to the public. CRS reports are available in several online collections including:

CRS from Congress.gov
As of 2018, all CRS reports that are not a matter of national security will be released to the public. Thank you, librarians!
Federation of American Scientists
FAS was founded in 1945 by many of the Manhattan Project scientists who wanted to prevent nuclear war. Updated monthly.
University of North Texas CRSR Collection
UNT digital collection of CRS Reports boasts a robust number of entries on various topics and is updated constantly.

General Search

Need help narrowing down your topic? Try searching a general database with keywords to help you focus your research. Once you've collected a few key terms, try searching a more subject-specific database. UNet login required.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Wide variety of scholarly literature, newspapers, magazines, and more covering topics from a wide variety of disciplines. A great place to start searching for sources on your subject!
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Uses Google's powerful search to find scholarly literature. This link to Google Scholar authenticates you as a Brandeis user and provides the Brandeis Get It button next to many of your search results, allowing you to more easily find the full text of the articles.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text news, business, industry and legal information from major newspapers and magazines.

Journal Databases

Scopus This link opens in a new window
An abstract and citation database of scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
More than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Produced by the National Library of Medicine and the NIH, includes full text of all research funded by the NIH since 2008.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database for biomedical and health journals, curated by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Entries from thousands of journals that have been approved by the advisory committee as high quality, with coverage back to 1966.
APA PsycInfo (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports in psychology. Includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Coverage 1887 to present, includes 1,700+ international sources in over 35 languages.

Government Sources

Centers of Disease Control (CDC) Publications
Search CDC journals such as Morbidity and Mortality Weekly, and Emerging Infectious Diseases. Search by topic.
Science.gov
Searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.
World Health Organization (WHO)
Landing page for WHO. Find policy reports, statistics and updates from the World Health Organization.