Research Guides: HIST 166A History of Crises: Europe's Twentieth Century: Government Documents

Suggested Resources

Great Britain, Diplomatic Files, Folder Titles List
Papers from the Cabinet of Great Britain
From the National Archives
French “Yellow Book”
"Papers relative to the events and negotiations which preceded the opening of hostilities between Germany on the one hand, and Poland, Great Britain and France on the other hand."
The Avalon Project from Yale Univeristy
The Avalon Project is a digital repository of important documents, including treaties, pertaining to law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy and government. Search by time frame or by subject. Contains links to original text and supporting publications about the subject.

U.K. Parliamentary Papers: House of Commons 19th Century (1801-1900)

Full text of U.K. Parliamentary papers issued by the House of Commons between 1801-1900. Also included is the full text backfile from Hansard, the Official Report of debates in Parliament, from both the House of Commons and House of Lords, covering 1803 to 2005. Hansard provides an edited record of parliamentary debates and questions, including written ministerial statements and answers to parliamentary questions as well as the transcripts of debates.
Database available through at least May 31, 2028, as part of ProQuest's Evidence-Based Acquisition Program.
Digital National Security Archive
Includes more than 60,000 of the most important declassified documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions post WWII.
ProQuest Congressional
Access to congressional publications, hearings, debates, committee prints, CRS reports, legislative histories, bills, current laws, and regulations. Presently includes the full texts of hearings from 1824-2024, House & Senate Reports (Serial Set 1 & 2) from 1789-2003, CRS reports from 1916-2003, committee prints from 1830-2022, historical Congressional Record (debates) from 1789-1997 as well as the current Daily Congressional Record (debates) from 1985 to present, the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations.