Research Guides: ANTH 121B: Archaeology and the Environment GIS Project: Home

GIS & Social Sciences Librarian

Email Me

Subjects: Environmental Studies, Linguistics

Welcome

This guide includes supplementary resources for the ArcGIS Pro workshops for Dr. Charlie Goudge's Archaeology and the Environment course. Use the sidebar menu to navigate to resources on ArcGIS Pro, geospatial concepts, etc. New content will be added to this guide throughout the semester.

Workshop files and handouts are posted in LATTE.

Library Databases

The following database provides access to primary sources that will help with the map analysis component of your Visualizing Environments assignment:

Antigua, Slavery and Emancipation in the Records of a Sugar Plantation, 1689-1907 This link opens in a new window
This collection contains records pertaining to the Tudway family’s ownership of an Antiguan sugar plantation during the 17th, 18th, and 19th centuries. The papers cover the period from the early slave trade to the post-slavery economy. The combination of statistical ledgers and narrative correspondence provides a unique insight into the operation and eventual abolition of the slave trade in the West Indies.

ArcGIS Pro Sign-in Process

Open ArcGIS Pro. Click Sign-in to sign into your account.
Select the Your ArcGIS organization's URL sign-in option and then type brandeis into the text box to sign into ArcGIS Pro. Click Continue.
You will be redirected to the Brandeis login page where you will be able to sign into the software using your Brandeis username and password.

Accessing ArcGIS Pro via Amazon AppStream

Additional resources on accessing ArcGIS Pro via Amazon AppStream are posted in LATTE, including instructions on how to save files into your home folder directory.

Amazon AppStream login
Sign-in link for accessing Amazon AppStream. AppStream is the recommend access option for ArcGIS Pro if you are a Mac user and/or aren't able to use ArcGIS Pro in our desktop PC labs.

ArcGIS Pro Tutorials

GIS for Climate Resilience
An ArcGIS Tutorial Series. Includes learning pathways for community action, urban and community planning, and natural resource management.
Introduction to Imagery & Remote Sensing
An ArcGIS Tutorial Series. Topics covered include georeferencing imagery, working with elevation and time data, deep learning techniques, raster modeling, etc.
Learn ArcGIS
Guided lessons in using ArcGIS based off of real-world issues.
Esri Community
Esri's hosted discussion forums. Helpful site for receiving advice from peers on how to perform tasks and troubleshoot issues with Esri products.
Esri Academy
Free to current Brandeis students/faculty/staff. Sign in with the Your ArcGIS Organization's URL login option. Type brandeis into the text box, then sign in using your Brandeis credentials. Once you've signed in, select the maintenance checkbox to see the list of courses available through our subscription.

Related Library Guides

GIS Data
by Alex Willett Last Updated Feb 15, 2024 1697 views this year
ArcGIS Pro
by Alex Willett Last Updated Feb 27, 2024 1237 views this year