Research Guides: LGLS 122B: Indigenous Rights, Environmental Justice, and Federal Indian Law: Grey Lit & Government Sources

Case Law

Federal and State Cases (Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new window
Search cases from federal and state courts.

Bloomberg Law is available on the Bloomberg terminals located in the International Business School. These are open for all Brandeis students to use..

Caselaw Access Project (CAP)
360 years of published U.S. court decisions freely available to the public online, in a consistent format, digitized from the collection of the Harvard Law Library.
PACER
PACER is the online database for US Courts documents. Users must sign up for an account to do searches, and it costs .15 a page view. Users start accuring charges once the page view total cost reaches $15.00. This resets quarterly. See alternatives below.

Congressional Research Service (CRS)

The CRS, a division of the Library of Congress, provides policy and legal analysis to representatives and senators in Congress. CRS reports are renown for authoritative, objective, and non-partisan research but are not directly released to the public. CRS reports are available in several online collections including:

University of North Texas CRSR Collection
UNT digital collection of CRS Reports boasts a robust number of entries on various topics and is updated constantly.
Federation of American Scientists
FAS was founded in 1945 by many of the Manhattan Project scientists who wanted to prevent nuclear war. Updated monthly.
Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports
Analytical, nonpartisan reports on major policy issues, prepared for members and committees of the United States Congress. This search interface will have CRS reports published from September 2018 onward, with an ongoing effort to fill in the back file.
more...less...
More information on the public release of CRS Reports.

Gateways and Portals

USA.gov
Main portal to find and access government information on both the state and federal levels. This is a good place to start for anyone looking for current information.
OneSearch
Brandeis' catalog contains many government reports and journals and includes links to online publications. For best results, include "Government Printing Office" "GPO" or "Government Publishing Office" for publisher in Advanced Search.
Hathi Trust
Sizable collection of government information sources available through Hathi Trust. UNet Login required.

Legislative Sources

Congress.gov
Up-to-date access to legislative information.
ProQuest Congressional
Access to congressional publications, hearings, debates, committee prints, CRS reports, legislative histories, bills, current laws, and regulations. 1824 - 2003. UNet Login required.

Judicial Sources

Law Library of Congress
The Federal Court System and Decisions
Legal Information Institute
A not-for-profit group that believes everyone should be able to read and understand the laws that govern them, without cost.
Oyez from IIT Chicago-Kent College of Law
Oyez (pronounced oh-yay), a free law project at Chicago-Kent, is a multimedia archive devoted to making the Supreme Court of the United States accessible to everyone
SCOTUSblog
Commentary, announcements, statistics, articles, and other information about Supreme Court decisions.
Supremecourt.gov
Official source for all things SCOTUS.
Table of Popular Names
Laws have official names, but also popular names (Affordable Care Act = Obamacare). This table can help decipher which law is actually which.
US Courts
Provides access to electronic materials (forms, fee information, schedules, rules of procedure) from District Courts, Courts of Appeal, Bankruptcy Courts, and Courts of Special Jurisdiction.

Massachusetts Government Information

Mass.gov
Official website for the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. Includes links to agencies, the legislature, bill tracking, A-Z list of subjects and links to policies and press releases.
List of State Agencies
Alphabetical listing by keyword of branches of government, Constitutional offices, and the departments under them, and provides links to those with websites.
Massachusetts Legislative Tracker
Find state legislators, search bills and laws and find other goings on in the state legislature. 2010 - Present.
State Library of Massachusetts
Digital archive of state information, including Acts and Resolves, 1692 - 2010.
Code of Mass Regulations By Subject
Regulations issued by state agencies.
Primary Sources for Massachusetts from the Library of Congress
The extensive collections at the Library of Congress contain historic artifacts and cultural materials from across the U.S. The list below is just a sample of the many Massachusetts resources available for free on the Library's Web site.
US District Court Massachusetts
Information about judges in the court, cases being tried, calendars, announcements and other information.
Case and Legal Resources - Massachusetts
Gateway to Massachusetts cases in progress, recently published court opinions, sources on Massachusetts law, rules or guidelines governing court practice and more.
Massachusetts Law Libraries
There are fifteen Trial Court Law Libraries located across Massachusetts to serve the courts, attorneys and the public. On this site, we have collected a great deal of information on Massachusetts law that we hope you'll find helpful.