Research Guides: THA 150A Global Theater: Voices from Asia, Africa, and the Americas: Finding background information

Online theater reference

Oxford Reference: Performing Arts
Search facts and definitions found in dictionary and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.

Oxford Bibliographies

Oxford Bibliographies
Start your research with this collection of annotated bibliographies. Each provides a brief overview of a topic, followed by a list of recommended books, articles, and other sources. From Afrofuturism (Literary and Critical Theory) to the Zapatista Rebellion in Chiapas (Latin American Studies), get connected to key scholarship and primary sources to support your research.

To find out which resources you can view through your Brandeis access: click the bracketed plus sign to the left of "Find this resource." This reveals a "BRANDEIS ACCESS" link, which when clicked should take you to a full text source if it's available.

NOTE: If OneSearch says we don't have full-text access to an article, book, or book chapter in Oxford Bibliographies, it's a good idea to copy the title into OneSearch just to make sure -- sometimes the links don't work properly. If you find that Brandeis doesn't offer full-text access to a resource, you can always request it via Interlibrary Loan or Scan on Demand.

Resource for costume scholarship

Berg Fashion Library
Leading source of scholarly information on all aspects of dress and fashion worldwide, from prehistory to the present day.

See entry on "Dress as Costume in the Theatre and Performing Arts," especially resources in the bibliography ("References and Further Reading") below it.