Research Guides: FA166B Representing Globalism: Finding background information

African art: online bibliography

Modern African Art: A Basic Reading List (compiled by Janet Stanley, Smithsonian)
Regularly updated; includes books and articles on academic and self-taught artists along with urban popular arts and tourist arts from throughout the continent.
Monographs on African Artists: An Annotated Bibliography (compiled by Janet Stanley, Smithsonian)
Annotated list of books and catalogues of exhibitions published on contemporary African artists; can browse by country

Annotations from "Arts of Western Africa," Oxford Bibliographies Online

Grove Art Online (Oxford Art Online)
Online access to definitive reference works encompassing all aspects of visual culture; includes biographical and subject entries with bibliographies for further research and searchable images made available through Oxford's partnerships with museums, galleries, and other arts organizations.
Oxford Reference: Art & Architecture
Search facts and definitions found in dictionary and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.

Benezit Dictionary of Artists
Comprehensive source of artists’ biographies in the English language, long a standard reference work in France. Particularly known for its coverage of nineteenth-century and East Asian artists, historic auction prices, and images of artists’ signatures and monograms.

Artist directory on art21.org
"The Mission of Art21 is to educate and expand access to contemporary art through the production of documentary films, resources, and public programs." Relevant themes to explore include "Migration and Displacement," "Decolonize,", and "War and Conflict."

Note: art21 is a rich resource for video on contemporary art and artists.

Search artists: theartstory.org
"TheArtStory.org... helps millions of people each year understand and enjoy every style of art, from Classical Greek statues, to Dali’s Surrealist concoctions, to Contemporary Conceptual explorations."