Research Guides: AAAS 170A: Black Childhoods: Primary Sources

Suggested resources

HistoryMakers Digital Archive
An African American video oral history archive. Provides access to oral history interviews with historically significant African Americans.
Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle

Includes records of major civil rights organizations and personal papers of leaders and observers of the 20th century Black freedom struggle, as well as federal government records. Includes the records of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters, the National Association of Colored Women's Clubs, the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC), and the Congress of Racial Equality (CORE).
This database includes "Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century" and "NAACP Papers."

Digital Public Library of America
Digitized materials from libraries, archives and museums around the country.
W.E.B. DuBois Papers
"Includes over 100,000 items of correspondence (more than three quarters of the papers), speeches, articles, newspaper columns, nonfiction books, research materials, book reviews, pamphlets and leaflets, petitions, novels, essays, forewords, student papers, manuscripts of pageants, plays, short stories and fables, poetry, photographs, newspaper clippings, memorabilia, videotapes, audiotapes, and miscellaneous materials. Scholar, writer, editor of The Crisis and other journals, co-founder of the Niagara Movement, the NAACP, and the Pan African Congresses, international spokesperson for peace and for the rights of oppressed minorities, W.E.B. Du Bois was a son of Massachusetts who articulated the strivings of African Americans and developed a trenchant analysis of the problem of the color line in the twentieth century." (UMASS Amherst Special Collections)

When looking for historical newspaper articles, remember to look for articles published during the historical time period under study.

ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers
Search across the New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), the Norfolk Journal and Guide (1921-2003), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991), Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), Michigan Chronicle‎ (1936 - 2010), and the Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988). Please note that Brandeis Library also has access to the Chicago Defender newspaper which can be searched separately

Ethnic NewsWatch
Newspapers, magazines, and journals from American ethnic and native communities, covering 1960 to the present.
Ebony Magazine Archive (EBSCO)
Ebony is one of the key African American magazines of the 20th century, covering 20th and 21st-Century current events, art, design, politics and culture, literature, advertising, and more. The Ebony Magazine Archive contains the complete archive of the magazine (including Covers and Advertisements) beginning in November 1945 to June 2014.

Jet Magazine, 1951-2008
Covers the civil rights movement, politics, education, and other social topics with an African-American focus. It includes over 3,000 issues providing a broad view of news, culture, and entertainment from its first issue in 1951 through 2014.
Crisis (1910-1960)
Influential publication published by the NAACP. HathiTrust digitally preserves the first issue, from November, 1910, as well as issues published through 1998. Log in as a Brandeis user in the upper right to access all volumes.