NEJS 195B -- Early Islamic History from Muhammad to the Mongols

PRINT BOOK. An authoritative reference source on the most important authors, works, genres, key terms, concepts and issues in the Arabic literary tradition. The Encyclopedia covers the classical (pre-Islamic to 1258), transitional (1258-1798) and modern periods within a single work. In over 1300 separately-authored entries, many of the world's experts combine current research with traditional study to provide authoritative analysis and commentary on a wide range of areas. These include major authors, important works, and a variety of literary terms. Also covered are forms such as poetry, drama and newspaper writing and key critical concepts of Arabic literature.

E-Book. The Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World covers an area of Jewish history, religion, and culture whichuntil now has lacked its own cohesive/discreet reference work. The Encyclopedia aims to fill thegap in academic reference literature on the Jews of Muslim lands particularly in the late medieval, earlymodern and modern periods. The only reference work of its kind: up-to-date research and bibliographies make it indispensible forall levels of users. Over 350 internationally-renowned scholars from North America, Europe, Africa and the Middle East.

PRINT ONLY. Provides an overview of Islamic history from its inception up to the beginning of the twentieth century.

PRINT BOOK. E-book is on order. With a complete selection of bibliographies and tables of dates, titles, and names, this completely revised classic manual builds upon a work that has been a cornerstone of Islamic studies for thirty years. It remains the best source of clear, accurate information on centuries of Muslim dynastic history and the royal families in the Muslim world.

Print Book. Jonathan Berkey's 2003 book surveys the religious history of the peoples of the Near East from roughly 600 to 1800 CE. The opening chapter examines the religious scene in the Near East in late antiquity, and the religious traditions which preceded Islam. Subsequent chapters investigate Islam's first century and the beginnings of its own traditions, the 'classical' period from the accession of the Abbasids to the rise of the Buyid amirs, and thereafter the emergence of new forms of Islam in the middle period. Throughout, close attention is paid to the experiences of Jews and Christians, as well as Muslims. The book stresses that Islam did not appear all at once, but emerged slowly, as part of a prolonged process whereby it was differentiated from other religious traditions and, indeed, that much that we take as characteristic of Islam is in fact the product of the medieval period.

Print Book. Dr Kennedy gives a full and clear account of the Near East in the formative period of Islamic society. Beginning with the life of Muhammad and the birth of Islam, he goes on to examine the great Arab conquests and the golden age of Islam from the eighth to the tenth centuries. The book closes with the period of political fragmentation in the tenth and eleventh centuries when the early unity was lost, never to be recovered.