Skip to main content

Archival Resources of Brandeis University

This guide will help you discover the University's archival resources and how to use them. From primary sources to Brandeis publications to digitized materials, your archival research starts here.

University Archivist

Maggie McNeely's picture
Maggie McNeely
Contact:
Brandeis University
MS 045 at 415 South Street
Waltham, MA 02454-9110
781-736-4686
Website

Senior thesis writers from the Class of 2020

If you are a senior thesis writer from the Class of 2020, you can still submit a paper copy of your thesis to the University Archives. Please mail a copy to:

Robert D. Farber University Archives & Special Collections
Brandeis University
Goldfarb Library
Mailstop 045
Waltham, MA 02453.

You can submit a paper copy of your thesis at any point in the future.

Submitting your Senior Honors Theses

Submitting a paper copy to the Archives

If your department or program has requested that you submit a paper copy of your thesis or if you prefer submitting this way, bring a clean copy (no staples, holes, or bindings of any sort) of the final version along with your signed release form to the Archives & Special Collections department on Goldfarb Level 2. Release forms are available through your department administrator.

You may send your thesis to us by inter-campus mail or by post. For inter-campus mail our number is MS 045 and you can address it to "Archives." Our mailing address is: Robert D. Farber University Archives & Special Collections, Brandeis University, Goldfarb Library, Mailstop 045, Waltham, MA 02453.

While we do require that you fill out the top part of the thesis release form (granting us permission to have a copy of your thesis), you are not required to sign the bottom portion indicating that you allow us to photocopy your thesis for other researchers. However, we do strongly encourage you to grant such permission as we receive many photocopy requests from researchers around the world who are interested in the topics our students write about. These researchers are required to fill out a form indicating that they will not violate your copyright, and they have permission to use the material for educational purposes only.

Your thesis will be bound, cataloged in OneSearch, and housed permanently in the University Archives, usually by the end of the following semester.

Submitting your Senior Thesis Electronically

Electronic submission is a parallel option to submitting a paper copy of the thesis to the University Archives, though you are welcome to submit using both methods. Submitting electronically will create wider access to your paper by its inclusion in the Brandeis Institutional Repository.

Please see this Publishing Support guide for submitting your these electronically. 

Finding Theses and Dissertations

Finding Theses and Dissertations

The University Archives maintains print copies of Senior Honor Theses and a small number of Masters Theses. 

Senior honors theses 

The University Archives has a fairly complete collection of senior honors theses. All theses can be found in the library catalog, OneSearch, through a title, author, or subject search. To search for theses by department, enter "Brandeis University senior honors theses dept of [department name]" in an author or keyword search. Items which were submitted electronically are available by download through Onesearch. For print theses bring a list of call numbers to the University Archives and we’ll retrieve them for you. Theses do not circulate and must be viewed in the Archives & Special Collections reading room.

Masters theses

The University Archives has a small number of print copies of master's theses. All theses can be found in the library catalog OneSearch through a title, author, or subject search. To search for theses by department, enter "Brandeis University theses dept of [department name]" in an author or keyword search. Master's theses  as of 2008 are now available in electronic format (with downloadable full text) via the Brandeis Institutional Repository Masters Theses Collection.

Reproducing theses for research

Limited copying of print theses is available. Small portions of theses may be copied without the author's permission. Copies cost 20 cents per page for members of the Brandeis community and Boston Library Consortium institutions, and 25 cents per page for other patrons.

A thesis may be copied in full if the University Archives has the author's written permission to do so. To facilitate this process, the University Archives has created a release form for all thesis authors to complete and sign, granting others permission to reproduce their work for research purposes.

If you do not have a library account with Brandeis theses may be borrowed by participating interlibrary loan institutions by contacting ill@brandeis.edu. We will check to see if we have the proper permissions and if we do we will accept the request.

Dissertations 

Dissertations created by Brandeis students may be accessed directly from Dissertations and Theses at Brandeis University, a library database. Electronic copies can be reached via a link in the database and print copies are housed in the library stacks and may be borrowed by members of the Brandeis community. Print dissertations also be borrowed by participating interlibrary loan institutions by contacting ill@brandeis.edu.

To access any dissertation not written by Brandeis students there are three places they may be found:

  • For those who don’t have access to in house collections and can’t find what they need through the Open Access website ProQuest Dissertation Express allows users to buy copies of dissertations. You would need author, title or an UMI Publication number to search for it. Once you find it, you can choose from various formats to purchase including Microfilm, Microfiche, Hardcover, Softcover, Unbound or as a PDF which will give you immediate access.