Skip to main content
“Brandeis

Archival Resources of Brandeis University

This guide will help you discover the University's archival resources and how to use them. From primary sources to Brandeis publications to digitized materials, your archival research starts here.

Contact Me!

Chloe Morse-Harding's picture
Chloe Morse-Harding
Contact:
Chloe Gerson, Reference and Instruction Archivist
Robert D. Farber University Archives & Special Collections, Goldfarb Library
Brandeis University
415 South St.
Waltham, MA 02453

cmorseharding@brandeis.edu
781-736-4657
Website

Materials about Brandeis History

Before you begin a project on the history of Brandeis University, take a look at some important works that preceded you!

 

Books about Brandeis University located in both the main stacks and University Archives:  

Brandeis University: Chapter of its Founding, by Israel Goldstein (1951) ***This book is also available on Hathi Trust (link in catalog record)

A Host at Last, by Abram Sachar (1976; 1977; 1995) ***The 1995 edition is also available on the Brandeis Institutional Repository

From the Beginning: A Picture History of the First Four Decades of Brandeis University, edited by Susan Pasternack (1988) ***This book is also available on the Internet Archive

Building a Campus: An Architectural Celebration of Brandeis University's 50th Anniversary, edited by Gerald Bernstein (1999) ***This book is also available on Hathi Trust (link in catalog record)

Brandeis University at the Beginning, by Stephen J. Whitfield (2010) 

 

Senior honors theses about Brandeis University held in the University Archives only:  

The Architecture of Brandeis University or "How I Spent My Summer Vacation” by Max Abramovitz, by Michael Hauptman (1971)

Architecture and Planning at Brandeis University by Ann Lorenz (1972)

The Brandeis Challenge: An History of Brandeis University by David Alexander (1979)

The Evolution of Tradition: Brandeis Student Activism and the Vietnam War: 1960 to 1970 by Daniel Ian Weintraub (1984)

Brandeis University in the 1960s: the myth of radicalism: a historical, political perspective by Elizabeth Orange (1988)

From Haven to ’Host’: the Origins of Brandeis University by John Gliedman (1988)

Now and Then and Inbetween: Stories of Brandeis University by Amy Perloff (1993)

Unlocking Doors to the Past and Future: An Architectural and Social Exploration of the Irving and Edyth Usen Castle by Amy Debra Finstein (1998)

The Evolution of College Culture: Brandeis University, a Case Study, by Valerie Beth Kolko (2001)

Massachusetts to Mississippi: Brandeis Student Involvement in the Civil Rights Movement 1960-1964, by Deena Ecker (2004)

Brandeis University's Midlife Identity Crisis: The State of Religion at Brandeis in 2005 Through the Lens of Majority/Minority Dynamics by Leora Koller-Fox (2005)

Double Liminality: Questioning Religious Identity at Brandeis University, by Miriam Von Guggenberg (2010)

 

Other relevant publications or papers about Brandeis held by the Archives:

Academia's Golden Age: Universities in Massachusetts: 1945-1970, by Richard M. Freeland (1992)

Brandeis University's Campus: A Play Between the Traditional and Modern, by Trude Renwick (2010)

University Periodical collection: A selection of periodicals created by Brandeis students [archival collection]

University History collection: Items that documents all aspects of the history of the university [archival collection]

University Photography collection: over 100,000 photographs and negatives documenting the history of the university [archival collection]

Brandeis University Yearbook, Archon (1952-present): Information about students, faculty and staff, clubs and organizations

Brandeis Review: Campus publication about all things related to the university

Brandeis Magazine: Campus publication about all things related to the university 

Brandeis Bulletin (1949-1970): Administrative newsletter for friends of the university about the happenings related to the university

Brandeis University Bulletin (1948/9-current): Also called the "Course Catalog"; Information about the history and mission of the university, university regulations, board of trustees members, faculty and staff, courses offered, programs and departments; the most current years are also available on the Brandeis University Registrar webpage

Student Handbook (scattered issues): Information about the general campus, clubs and organizations, university regulations

 

Online exhibits about Brandeis History:

Remebering Ford and Sydeman Halls and The Student Occupation of Ford Hall

Brandeis at 50: A People's History

History of Master Planning at Brandeis

Building Brandeis: Style and Function of a University