Research Guides: *Computer Science: Find sources

Science Librarian

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Farber 2

781-736-3597

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Engineering, Environmental Studies, First Year Writing (FYS and CSEM) , Linguistics and Computational Linguistics, Mathematics, Physics, Psychology

The following library databases are a good starting point for computer science research.

Scopus
An abstract and citation database of scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
ACM Digital Library

Includes journals, newsletters, and conference proceedings published by Association for Computing Machinery since 1947.
arXiv.org e-Print archive
This open access repository offers articles in physics, math, computer science and more: content is particularly relevant to high energy physics (HEP). Articles may not yet have been accepted to a journal or undergone peer review but have been vetted by arXiv.org's internal moderators.
ABI/INFORM Collection
Excellent coverage of international business and economics topics from journals, magazines, reports, and data sources.

See the full list of library databases for computer science and other disciplines.

Best Bet: Google Patents - Search patents from the US and many other countries

US Patents: Patent Public Search (previously PatFT) - US Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) searchable full-text patent database

European Patents: Espacenet - European Patent Office (EPO) searchable full-text patent database

OneSearch
OneSearch is the Brandeis Library's main catalog and database search tool.

Library Catalog: Your first stop to connect to items that the Library owns or has immediate access to.
Brandeis and More: Your second stop if you want to broaden your search beyond Brandeis. Request materials from other libraries through Interlibrary Loan.
Course Reserves: Search for books and films that have been set aside for your courses.
Archives and Special Collections: Search for rare and unique materials (both physical and digital) held by Brandeis Library.
Brandeis ScholarWorks: Search for research and creative work created by Brandeis faculty, students, and staff.
WorldCat.org (OCLC)
A combined catalog for libraries around the world. Use it to search material from other libraries and then request materials through Brandeis Library's Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request form.