Research Guides: *Education: Find Articles & Databases

Librarian

she/her/hers

Contact:

ztweinstein@brandeis.edu

Subjects: Asian Studies and Asian American and Pacific Islander Studies, Education, English and Literature, First Year Writing (FYS and CSEM) , French and Francophone, Hispanic Studies, History, Italian, Medieval and Renaissance Studies, Philosophy, Religion, Spanish and Latin American Literature

Education Guide

This guide highlights general education resources available at Brandeis, tips for effective research, and more. Please email or book an appointment with our Education Librarian, Zoe Weinstein (ztweinstein@brandeis.edu) if you have questions about these resources or need help with your research.

What is Peer Review?

Video created by NCSU Libraries (April 2014) under Creative Commons licensing:

Find Education Articles

These databases are a great place to start when you're looking for articles related to education, teaching, and related topics.

ERIC (ProQuest)
Database sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education that provides access to scholarly journals, curriculum and teaching guides, research reports, and other materials related to the field of education.
Education Database (ProQuest)
Scholarly journal articles, dissertations, and other materials on early childhood education through higher education topics. Most items are from 1980-present.
Education Research Complete (EBSCO)

Scholarly journal articles, dissertations, professional development resources, and other materials on topics related to the field of education. Coverage includes early childhood through adult education and all education specialties. Please note that Brandeis access to this resource will end on January 1, 2026. More information
JSTOR
Archive of scholarly journals and ebooks spanning many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. Often does not have the last 1-3 years of a publication. Use Advanced Search to select specific subject areas.
APA PsycInfo (EBSCO)
Citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports in psychology. Includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Coverage 1887 to present, includes 1,700+ international sources in over 35 languages.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
Contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic publications. Search across all content, limit to a single title, or choose by subject subsets.
Teacher Reference Center (EBSCO)
Freely available database that provides access to articles from popular teacher and administrator journals on topics relating to professional development and all levels of education.

Find more on our A-Z Databases: Education page.

Select Education Journals

The following education journals are great places to browse if you'd like to find ideas for research topics or read some of the latest scholarship.

American Educational Research Journal
Articles include original empirical and theoretical studies and analyses in education. The editors seek to publish articles from a wide variety of academic disciplines and substantive fields.
Older issues (1964-2012) are available in JSTOR.
Elementary School Journal
ESJ publishes peer-reviewed articles that pertain to both education theory and research and their implications for teaching practice. In addition, ESJ presents articles that relate the latest research in child development, cognitive psychology, and sociology to school learning and teaching.
Older issues (1912-2012) are available in JSTOR.
Harvard Educational Review
Scholarly journal of opinion and research in education. It provides an interdisciplinary forum for discussion and debate about the field's most vital issues.
Review of Research in Education
Provides an overview and descriptive analysis of selected topics of relevant research literature through critical and synthesizing essays (coverage: 1973-present).
Teaching and Teacher Education
International journal concerned primarily with teachers, teaching, or teacher education situated in an international perspective or in an international context.
Urban Education
Articles cover topics such as mental health needs of urban students, student motivation and teacher practice, school-to-work programs and community economic development, restructuring in large urban schools and health and social services