Government Information

Find briefings, policies, updates on the president's activities, photos, videos, and ways to get involved. Also includes links to other executive offices: First Lady, Vice President.

An overview of the Presidential Library program, overseen by the National Archives, and links to all current presidential libraries.

Learn about each president, with links to Vice President and First Spouse's bios.

Online from Reagan to Obama, prior presidents in print or on microform. Search the catalog for more info.

Official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary.

Biography, activities and duties of the Vice President.

The Cabinet includes the Vice President and the heads of 15 executive departments — the Secretaries of Agriculture, Commerce, Defense, Education, Energy, Health and Human Services, Homeland Security, Housing and Urban Development, Interior, Labor, State, Transportation, Treasury, and Veterans Affairs, as well as the Attorney General.

A-Z Index of U.S. Government Departments and Agencies

Up-to-date access to legislative information. Search by name, sponsor, text, number to find out the status of any piece of legislation, passed or pending.

Current activity, history and profiles for current US Senators.

Hearings, legislative schedules, and links to individual Representative profiles.

Access to congressional publications, hearings, debates, committee prints, CRS reports, legislative histories, bills, current laws, and regulations. 1824 - 2003. UNet Login required.

A vast "Index of Indexes," this database is an excellent resource for historical research prior to 1925. Contains over 60 subject indexes to periodicals, books and newspapers. UNet login required.

Official collection of reports and documents of the United States Congress. This database spans 1817 through 1980. *NOTE: You must have a Boston Public Library card to access.

Online records and acts of Congress from the Continental Congress and Constitutional Convention through the 43rd Congress, including the first three volumes of the Congressional Record, 1873-75.

UNT digital collection of Congressional Research Service Reports boasts a robust number of entries on various topics and is updated constantly.

Official source for all things SCOTUS.

Provides access to electronic materials (forms, fee information, schedules, rules of procedure) from District Courts, Courts of Appeal, Bankruptcy Courts, and Courts of Special Jurisdiction.

Commentary, announcements, statistics, articles, and other information about Supreme Court decisions.

Oyez (pronounced oh-yay), a free law project at Chicago-Kent, is a multimedia archive devoted to making the Supreme Court of the United States accessible to everyone

The Federal Court System and Decisions

Narrow your search using Advanced Options to get Federal and State case law. Some law journals available. UNet login required.

A not-for-profit group that believes everyone should be able to read and understand the laws that govern them, without cost.

Laws have official names, but also popular names (Affordable Care Act = Obamacare). This table can help decipher which law is actually which.