Skip to main content

*Yiddish Studies

Language Resources

Yiddish Language

Bratkowsky, Joah G.
Yiddish Linguistics: A Multilingual Bibliography
New York: Garland Publishers, 1988
Judaica Reference Z7070.Y53 B7 1988

Brisman, Shimeon.
History and Guide to Judaic Dictionaries and Concordances
Hoboken, NJ : KTAV Pub. House, 2000
Judaica Reference Z6366 .B77 2000

Galvin, Herman.
The Yiddish Dictionary Sourcebook: A Transliterated Guide to the Yiddish Language
Hoboken: Ktav, 1986
Judaica Reference PJ5117 .G34 1986

Greenspoon, Leonard J.
Yiddish Language and Culture Then and Now
Omaha, NE: Creighton University Press, 1998
Main Stacks PJ5111 .Y464 1998

Isaacs, Miriam and Lewis Glinert, eds.
Pious Voices: Languages Among Ultra-Orthodox Jews
Berlin; New York: Mouton de Gruyter, 1999
Main Stacks PJ 4544 .P5 1999

Jacobson, Steven A.
A Guide to the More Common Hebraic Words in Yiddish
4th ed. Fairbanks, Alaska : S.A. Jacobson, 1995
Judaica Reference PJ5118 .J33 1995

Reershemius, Gertrud.
Biographisches Erzählen auf Jiddisch: Grammatische und Diskursanalytische Untersuchungen
( Beihefte zum Language and Culture Atlas of Ashkenazic Jewry ; Bd. 2)
Tübingen : M. Niemeyer, 1997
Main Stacks PJ5115 .R4 1997

[Schaechter, Mordkhe].
Der eynheytlekher Yidisher oysleyg
Other title: Takones fun yidishn oysleyg.
Other title: Standardized Yiddish Orthography
Nyu York : Yidisher visnshaftlekher institut : Yidish-shprakhiker resursn-tsenter bay der Yidish-lige, 1999
Main Stacks PJ5116 .E9 1999

Stutchkoff, Nahum.
Der Oytser fun der Yidisher Shprakh
Other title: Thesaurus of the Yiddish Language
[Nyu-York] : Yidisher Visenshaftlekher Institut [New York, 1950]
Unter der redaktsiye fun Maks Vaynraykh
Main Stacks PJ5117 .S83

Jewish Languages Research Website: Yiddish
History of Yiddish language and it's variants.

Weiser, Chaim M.
Frumspeak: the First Dictionary of Yeshivish
Northvale, N.J.: J. Aronson, 1995
Judaica Reference PE1582.Y5 W45 1995

Vseukraïnska akademiia nauk. Institut far Yidisher kultur. Filologishe sektsye.
Afn shprakhfront: zshurnal far Yidish shprakhvisn
Other Title: An der Sprachfront
Kiev : Institut far Yidisher kultur ba der Alukraynisher visnshaftlekher akademiye, Filologishe sektsye,
Brandeis holdings 1935, vol. 2.
Main Library : Stacks P10 .A35

Dictionaries

Harduf, David Mendel.
English-Yiddish, Yiddish-English Dictionary
Willowdale, Ont. : D.M. Harduf, 1983
Main Stacks PJ5117.E5 H48 1983

Harkavy, Alexander.
Yidish-English-Hebreisher verterbukh = Yiddish-English-Hebrew dictionary
New York : Yivo Institute for Jewish Research : Schocken Books, 1988
Judaica Reference PJ5117 .H54 1988

Kogos, Fred.
The Dictionary of Popular Yiddish Words, Phrases, and Proverbs
Other title: Popular Yiddish Words, Phrases, and Proverbs
Secaucus, N.J. : Carol Publishing Group, 1997
Judaica Reference PJ5117 .K58 1997

Kogos, Fred.
A Dictionary of Yiddish Slang & Idioms
New York : Citadel Press, [1968, c1967]
Main Reference PJ5117 .K58

Weinreich, Uriel.
Modern English-Yiddish, Yiddish-English Dictionary
New York, Yivo Institute for Jewish Research, 1968
Judaica Reference PJ5117 .W4
Main Reference PJ5117 .W4
Main Stacks PJ5117 .W4

Judaica Librarian

Rachel Greenblatt's picture
Rachel Greenblatt