Research Guides: *Religious Studies: Primary Sources, Data and Statistics

Librarian

Rachel Greenblatt

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

(781) 736-4688

Subjects: Germanic and Slavic Languages, Jewish Studies, Near Eastern and Judaic Studies, Religion, Yiddish Studies

Data and Statistics

Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA)
A collection of surveys, polls, and other data on religion in the U.S. and around the world.
Pew Research Center: Religion
A nonpartisan "fact tank" that conducts data-driven social science research such as public opinion polling. Religion is one of their research topics.

Statista
Provides current statistical data and comparisons for a wide-ranging and continually updated array of topics, using both publicly accessible and proprietary sources. The chief types of data are related to marketing, demographics, and government information. Sources include market forecasts, dossiers, and industry reports.

If you will be analyzing or visualizing data in a table, graph, or map, be sure to check out our Data Services guide and connect with library specialists who can help!

Historical Primary Sources

Atla Digital Library
Digitized collections from libraries, religious institutions, and other organizations worldwide that focus on religion and theology.

Religious Magazine Archive
A searchable archive of magazines devoted to religious topics, spanning 19th-21st centuries. The publications were originally written by/for a wider populace rather than academic/cultural elites and offer insights into, for example, the influence of belief systems on public life, the history of popular religious movements and the means used by religions to gain adherents and communicate their ideologies. A wide variety of religions and denominations are represented, allowing for comparative studies of religions during this period.

Be sure to check out the primary source databases available to you through Brandeis Library. Databases contain materials such as historic newspapers, oral history videos, letters and diaries, pamphlets, memos, and more.