Skip to main content

*Mathematics

Mathematics E-Books

Finding Books at Brandeis: Brandeis Library OneSearch

Brandeis Library OneSearch logo 


The Library Catalog tab is the principal means for locating books, journals, and videos in the library collections. OneSearch can be useful for this purpose at two levels of your research. If you have already identified the book(s) you need through other research aids, search OneSearch Library Catalog by Title or by Author to locate the item(s) in the library. If you are trying to identify books that will be useful for your research, search OneSearch Library Catalog by Keyword or Subject.

The Articles & More tab searches across many of our subscription academic databases to find individual articles from journals, newspapers, magazines, HathiTrust and Project Gutenberg titles, and more.

The All OneSearch tab finds items across multiple academic databases, the library catalog, and other academic resources. It gives you an overview of research on a topic. 

Note: There are some library databases that aren't searchable in OneSearch. Users can still search these databases using the links on the library's Databases A-Z list. For a list of databases not included in OneSearch, check out our OneSearch FAQ page.

Finding Books at Brandeis

Browsing the print book collection

  • Math books in the Main Library are housed on Goldfarb 2 under the QA call number range. Make sure to check the item's location in the library catalog to see if it's housed in the main library, storage, or if it's an oversized book. Oversized math books will have a plus (+) sign in front of their call numbers and are located in a separate section on Goldfarb 2 (see map).

  • Math books and journals are also housed in the Gerstenzang Storage Facility. You can request items from storage by emailing borrowing@brandeis.edu.  


If It's Not at the Library

  • In a hurry? Get a BLC card and borrow the book from a nearby academic library - use WorldCat to find which libraries own it.
     
  • Have a little more time? Request the book from another library through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

Gerstenzang Storage Facility Requests

Please email borrowing@brandeis.edu if you would like us to retrieve something from the Gerstenzang Storage Facility's stacks. 

Please note: A large number of our science books and journals have been moved to the Main Library. G-zang is now used as an on-site library storage facility for lesser-used materials from all disciplines.

Library Purchase Request Form

If you would like to suggest an item that you think the library should add to our collections, please fill out a library purchase request. We will follow-up with you to let you know the status of your request.