Skip to main content

University Archives & Special Collections Material by Subject

Welcome to the subject index for University Archives & Special Collections at Brandeis University. From this page, you can browse collections in your area of interest and find more information on those collections.

Contact Me!

Chloe Morse-Harding's picture
Chloe Morse-Harding
Contact:
Chloe Morse-Harding, Reference and Instruction Archivist
Robert D. Farber University Archives & Special Collections, Goldfarb Library
Brandeis University
415 South St.
Waltham, MA 02453

cmorseharding@brandeis.edu
781-736-4657
Website

African and African American Studies

Pearl Bailey

Pearl Bailey, July 5, 1946, photographed by Carl Van Vechten.

American studies

All Together: Enlist in the Navy

"All Together! Enlist in the Navy," H. Reuterdahl, American Litho. Co., 1918; 30x44. From World War I and World War II Propaganda Posters Collection.

Anthropology

Robert Hunt

Brandeis History

Aerial of campus from 1963

Aerial of the Brandeis University campus, circa 1963

Comparative Literature

Denah Lida

East Asian studies

Pillow book

Material relevant to East Asian Studies includes a collection of Chinese snuff bottles, illustrated erotic pillow books (two Japanese and one Chinese), a collection of nineteenth-century Japanese prints, and a nineteenth-century Japanese scroll painted on silk illustrating the peoples of the world. 

Education

Middlesex students in laboratory, date unknown

English and American literature

Catch-22

Cover art for Catch-22 by Joseph Heller

Fine Arts

Helmut HirschLeonard BaskinMan Ray by Van Vechten

Material relevant to Fine Arts includes, in addition to the below, illustrated fine press books; Chinese and Japanese prints and objects (see East Asian studies); illustrated American Dime Novels; the Bernice and Henry Tumen Collection of Judaica (antique Jewish religious objects); illuminated manuscripts and Books of Hours; and more.

History

Civil War letters, Michael Lally Letters and Other Material collection

Judaic Studies

Click here to see the Near Eastern and Judaic Studies guide, and here to see the Yiddish studies guide.

Legal studies

Collections relevant to legal studies include the personal papers of Louis Brandeis as well as materials related to specific legal cases such as that of Leo Frank or Sacco and Vanzetti. Other materials include a collection of (pre-1947) Indian legal documents as well as photographs from the Nuremberg Trials.

Music

Medieval and Renaissance studies

Click here to see a guide devoted entirely to Medieval and Renaissance studies and sources.

Politics

Eleanor Roosevelt giving a General Education S Lecture

Psychology

Abraham Maslow during his Brandeis years

Religious Studies

Brandeis University's Three Chapels, dedicated in October 1955

Science

Some of the material relevant to various scientific fields includes works on early astronomy (sixteenth and seventeenth centuries), rare seventeenth-century Galileo books, first editions of Darwin's Origin of Species, the Albert Einstein collection, the Leonardo DaVinci collection, the Bern Dibner Collection in the History of Science, and more.

Sociology

Materials relevant to the study of Sociology include materials from the Department of Sociology, materials that enable students to study the social history of Brandeis University, and materials on a national and international scale.

Social justice and social policy

Manuscript collections relevant to social justice and social policy include material on Leo Frank, Sacco and Vanzetti, Jewish Resistance during World War II, Alfred Dreyfus, and abolitionism, as well as the personal papers of Louis Brandeis.

Theater arts

Theater Arts collections include materials related to Joan Crawford, Sophie Tucker, Arthur Laurents, George Froeschel, and others.

Women and Gender Studies

Professor Shulamit Reinharz, founding Director of the Women's Studies Research Center and the Hadassah-Brandeis Institute.