Research Guides: JBS: Legal, Legislative and News on the ACA: Journal Databases and News Sources

Related Databases

Since health studies topics are addressed by many disciplines, students and researchers may also be interested in consulting electronic databases from other fields.

Academic Search Premier
Provides full text and indexing of thousands of journals in all academic fields. You can choose and search other major EBSCO databases in various academic fields and search them simultaneously. See "Choose Databases" at the top of the page before entering your search terms.
ERIC
From the US Department of Education. Includes journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
Women's Studies International
Includes journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, Web sites & Web documents, and grey literature. 1972 - present.
PsycINFO
Contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports from in field of psychology.

US News Sources

Boston Globe
Includes full-text issues Boston Globe 1980 - Current. UNet login required.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Indexes and provides full text to over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the American ethnic, minority, and native press, 1960 to present, starting dates vary. UNet login required.
New York Times
1980 - Present. UNet login required.

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text news, business, industry and legal information from major newspapers and magazines.

International Sources

Lexis Nexis Academic Foreign Language News
Search for current news stories in languages other than English. UNet login required.

International Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Includes newspapers and newswires from Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Covers 1980-present.

Journal Literature

APA PsycInfo (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports in psychology. Includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Coverage 1887 to present, includes 1,700+ international sources in over 35 languages.
Cochrane Library (Wiley) This link opens in a new window
Find high-quality evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Included databases are the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL); and Cochrane Clinical Answers.
EconLit (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Extensive database of economic literature from 1886-present. Produced by the American Economic Association.
ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Database sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education that provides access to scholarly journals, curriculum and teaching guides, research reports, and other materials related to the field of education.
Health Reference Center Academic (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics. Sources include full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries. Designed for healthcare students, professionals, and researchers.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Includes full text law journals, US government documents, the Federal Register, U.S. Treaties, official Supreme Court opinions and more. Definitive database for legal research and policy work.
LGBTQ+ Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to scholarly journals, newspapers, books, and other materials on lesbian, bisexual, gay, and trans (LGBT) topics. Database includes a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,400 terms.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database for biomedical and health journals, curated by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Entries from thousands of journals that have been approved by the advisory committee as high quality, with coverage back to 1966. Please note that while Brandeis access to this resource will end on January 31, 2025, we also have access to Medline’s content through ProQuest. More information.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Public policy papers and grey literature from over 120 countries, 1915-present.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997.
Public Health Archives: Public Health in Modern America, 1890-1970 This link opens in a new window
Documents the rise of the twentieth-century public health system in the United States through correspondence, reports, pamphlets, ephemera, and more.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
More than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Produced by the National Library of Medicine and the NIH, includes full text of all research funded by the NIH since 2008.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic publications. Search across all content, limit to a single title, or choose by subject subsets.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
An abstract and citation database of scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection searches across multiple social sciences databases, including IBSS, Sociological Abstracts, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.
Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Search journals of social work, social welfare, social policy and community development, 1979 to present.