Clearly organized links to an immense number of quality research sources from prehistoric art to the 21st century (including noted individual artists) from all regions; extensive list of museums and galleries by country, exhibits, & university art depts.
Substantive scholarly & recreational Web sites dealing with art history and computer applications in art history. Indexes & large collections of art history resources, libraries, research tools, directories, online publications, teaching resources & more.
Searchable, annotated subject directory of more than 12,000 Internet resources selected for their usefulness to users of public libraries. Mission is to provide a well-organized point of access for reliable, trustworthy sites.
Selective "gathering point for networked resources on art and architecture." The content is diverse and includes pointers to resources around the Internet as well as original materials submitted by librarians, artists, art historians, and others.
Now a component of Oxford Art Online, Grove Art Online, provides Web access to the entire text of The Grove Dictionary of Art with quarterly additions of new material and updates to the text, plus extensive image links and all the sophisticated search advantages possible with an online reference source. Full-text articles, illustrations, index, bibliographies, and links to color images of art works, including comprehensive coverage of painting, sculpture, architecture, graphic and decorative arts, and photography from prehistory to the present.
With nearly 170,000 entries on artists from antiquity to the present day. Benezit includes auction records, museum holdings, and bibliographies; it features entries on many obscure artists as well as artists' signatures, monograms and stamps of sale.
Consists of a wealth of facts, figures, definitions, and translations found in dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Includes The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, A Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture, A Dictionary of Modern and Contemporary Art, A Dictionary of Modern Design, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Grove Encyclopeida of American Art, The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture, The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture, The Grove Encyclopedia of Northern Renaissance Art, The Oxford Companion to Architecture, The Oxford Companion to the Garden, The Oxford Companion to the Photograph, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Oxford Dictionary of American Art and Artists, The Oxford Dictionary of Art, and The Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists.
"Chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated especially by the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection." Extends from prehistory to 1600 AD and will continue to expand in scope & depth.
Offers fee-based services through optional registered membership, but access to artist & museum information is free. Artist entries offer a biography, information about museums displaying their work, a bibliography, and an image gallery.
Comprehensive coverage of all countries, periods, and cultures. Includes lengthy, detailed articles on broad historical, conceptual/systematic, and geographical topics by an international group of specialists. Use the analytic dictionary/index in vol. 15 to locate information on specific topics. The second half of each volume presents plates of key works discussed in the essays. Extensive bibliographies end each article. Vols. 1-15 issued in installments from 1959 to 1968; vol. 16 ("World Art in Our Time," 1983) and 17 ("New Discoveries and Perspectives," 1987) present important supplements with separate indexes. Despite its age, this entire encyclopedia remains an essential resource for art research.
Call Number: Creative Arts - Reference N7425 .I67 1990
Vol. 1 (Artists) provides articles on the most important artists from the 13th to the 20th centuries. Each article presents essential facts on the artist's career; the most important public and private collections of the artist's work; a bibliography of books and articles on and by the artist; and a critical essay discussing the historical and critical aspects of the artist's work. In roughly chronological order, vol. 2 (Art) presents articles and reproductions of ca. 500 individual artworks regarded as the acknowledged masterpiece or a representative work of each selected artist.