Skip to main content

UWS-14B-1 Making Art Making Money

Librarian

Aimee Slater's picture
Aimee Slater
Contact:
781-736-4673

How to Find Exhibition Catalogs using OneSearch

Almost every bibliographic record for an exhibition catalog includes the subject word Exhibitions:

Renoir, Auguste, 1841-1919 -- Exhibitions
Sisley, Alfred, 1839-1899 -- Exhibitions
Caillebotte, Gustave, 1848-1894 -- Exhibitions
Impressionism (Art) -- France -- Exhibitions
Still-life painting -- 19th century -- Exhibitions

In addition, almost every bibliographic record for an exhibition catalog has a description of the exhibition--and this description includes the searchable word exhibition:

Published in conjunction with the exhibition held Sept. 16, 1994-Jan. 9, 1995 at the Galeries Nationales du Grand Palais, Paris; Feb. 18-May 28, 1995 at the Art Institute of Chicago, and June 22-Sept. 10, 1995 at the Los Angeles County Museum of Art.

Catalog of an exhibition held at the Musee des Beaux-Arts, Lyon, Oct. 10, 2002-Jan. 6, 2003.

To find an exhibition catalog focused on an artist or a particular topic, perform a keyword search that includes the artist's name (last is usually sufficient) or the topic word or words and the search word exhibition* -- this truncation (symbol: *) will search for both the descriptive word exhibition and the subject word exhibitions.

Caveat: do not use the word exhibit (or exhibits) in your search--you might get a few results, but exhibit or exhibits is not used consistently in bibliographic records for exhibition catalogs.

So, to find all the Renoir exhibition catalogs at Brandeis, perform this OneSearch keyword search (under the Library Catalog tab):

renoir exhibition*

To find all the exhibition catalogs on Impressionism held by Brandeis, perform this OneSearch keyword search (also under the Library Catalog tab):

impressionism exhibition*

To find all the exhibition catalogs of Impressionism at Metropolitan Museum of Art held by Brandeis, perform this OneSearch keyword search (under the Library Catalog tab):

impressionism exhibition* metropolitan

Finding Books Located in Other Libraries

WorldCat

  • A combined (union) catalog for most of the libraries in the United States and many foreign libraries as well.
  • The best way to find books and journals not at Brandeis. 
  • You can request ILL (interlibrary loan) directly from a WorldCat record by clicking on the "Request Item" button. For more about interlibrary loan, click here.

Finding Reviews of Exhibitions

Art & Architecture Complete

  • Use this database to search art periodicals (lots of full text; also includes Get It links for article citations).

LexisNexis Academic

  • Extremely current resource for locating the full-text of reviews or feature articles in newspapers, such as the New York Times, Washington Post, or Boston Globe.

  • Here is the best way to find art reviews and feature articles:

    • For most searches, use the Academic Search (default) option (for reviews and feature articles); only use "Search the News" for a discovery, theft, obituary, or other newsworthy item.

    • For most searches, the the default search is sufficient; the Advanced Options require more complex search formatting, but also allow more powerful drilling down to specific newspapers or other sources.

    • Tips for formatting searches:

      • Use key terms from the title of the exhibition and the museum holding the exhibition.

      • "And" is always assumed between search words (renoir impressionism = renoir AND impressionism).

      • Use quotation marks around phrases ("barcelona and modernity"; "metropolitan museum").

      • If you know the name of the exact source you want to search, enter its name into the Source box (under "Advanced Options").

      • For News searches, choose "Major World Publications" (the default) in the "Search the News" box.

      • To see more information about the publication you want to search, click on the "i".

Academic Search Premier

  • Use this resource to search for full-text and/or citations for articles in a wide range of journals -- coverage can be very current. Note that numerous art journals are not included in this resource, however. Use this resource to search interdisciplinary or intradisciplinary periodicals.

  • Format searches as for OneSearch and WorldCat.

  • In searches, put quotes around expressions such as "museum of modern art" or "new york."