Research Guides: *South Asian Studies: News and Current Events

Social Sciences Librarian

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

781-736-4667

Subjects: Anthropology, Asian Studies and Asian American and Pacific Islander Studies, First Year Writing (FYS and CSEM) , Heller School for Social Policy and Management, Latin American, Caribbean and Latinx Studies, Myra Kraft Achievers Program (MKAP), Sociology, Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

Asian Newsstream (ProQuest)
Access more than 200 national and regional sources of news and current affairs information in Asia. Many titles are updated within 24 hours of publication. Publications include The Wall Street Journal Asia, The Times of India, and the Balochistan Times.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
Provides full-text news, business, industry and legal information from major newspapers and magazines. Includes newspapers such as the Balochistan Times, Colombo Times (Sri Lanka), Dawn (Pakistan), The Economic Times (India), Himalayan Times (Nepal), Hindustan Times, Nepali Times, The News Today (Bangladesh), Pakistan Today, and South Asian Times. To find a newspaper, use the Source Directory "Find" link in the upper right portion of the database page.

Himalayan Newspapers & Journals
The University of Cambridge's Digital Himalaya Collection includes scanned copies of journals, magazines and publications related Himalayan studies.
BBC Media Profiles by Country
Includes information about and links to sources for newspapers, television, radio coverage of news. Select a country to view a profile and then scroll down for the country's full media profile)
BBC Media Profile for India
Includes information about and links to sources for newspapers, television, radio coverage of news.
BBC Media Profile for Pakistan
Includes information about and links to sources for newspapers, television, radio coverage of news.

Times of India (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Covers 1838-2006. The world’s most widely circulated English daily newspaper was founded in 1838 to serve British residents of West India. Today this historical newspaper serves researchers interested in studying colonialism and post-colonialism, British and world history, class and gender issues, international relations, comparative religion, international economics, terrorism, and more.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Includes journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses. The current collection, Ethnic NewsWatch™, covers 1990-present, and the historical collection, Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™, spans 1959-1989. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.