Online access to definitive reference works encompassing all aspects of visual culture; includes biographical and subject entries with bibliographies for further research and searchable images made available through Oxford's partnerships with museums, galleries, and other arts organizations.
Comprehensive source of artists’ biographies in the English language, long a standard reference work in France. Particularly known for its coverage of nineteenth-century and East Asian artists, historic auction prices, and images of artists’ signatures and monograms.
"Chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated especially by the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection." Extends from prehistory to 1600 AD and will continue to expand in scope & depth.
Offers fee-based services through optional registered membership, but access to artist & museum information is free. Artist entries offer a biography, information about museums displaying their work, a bibliography, and an image gallery.
Comprehensive coverage of all countries, periods, and cultures. Includes lengthy, detailed articles on broad historical, conceptual/systematic, and geographical topics by an international group of specialists. Use the analytic dictionary/index in vol. 15 to locate information on specific topics. The second half of each volume presents plates of key works discussed in the essays. Extensive bibliographies end each article. Vols. 1-15 issued in installments from 1959 to 1968; vol. 16 ("World Art in Our Time," 1983) and 17 ("New Discoveries and Perspectives," 1987) present important supplements with separate indexes. Despite its age, this entire encyclopedia remains an essential resource for art research.
Call Number: Creative Arts - Reference N7425 .I67 1990
Vol. 1 (Artists) provides articles on the most important artists from the 13th to the 20th centuries. Each article presents essential facts on the artist's career; the most important public and private collections of the artist's work; a bibliography of books and articles on and by the artist; and a critical essay discussing the historical and critical aspects of the artist's work. In roughly chronological order, vol. 2 (Art) presents articles and reproductions of ca. 500 individual artworks regarded as the acknowledged masterpiece or a representative work of each selected artist.