From Stanford University, a collection of interviews with noted feminist artists, curators, and critics by documentary filmmaker Lynn Hershman Leeson; also includes performance and exhibit opening videos.
Call Number: Creative Arts - Reference N8354 .D53 1997
Presents substantial entries on women artists working in a wide variety of media (excluding architecture, design, and fashion) from the Middles Ages to the present in Europe, America, and Australasia. Opens with introductory essays examining the training opportunities and changing work conditions for women artists since the medieval period. The actual dictionary includes 600 entries restricted to women artists of the Western tradition born before 1945. Entries also include a list of selected individual exhibitions, selected writings, and substantial bibliographies.
Call Number: Creative Arts - Reference N8354 .P54 1994
Selective bibliography of writings on historical women artists born by 1930 and the contemporary women's art movement. Divides into 2 sections: general works and individual artists subdivided by century (medieval-20th century).
Call Number: Creative Arts - Reference N6503 .N67 1995
Comprehensive coverage of 20th-century women artists from Canada, Mexico, and the United States born before 1960. Each entry concludes with a brief bibliography. Includes b&w reproductions of one key artwork by each artist.
Call Number: Creative Arts - Reference NB212 .W37 1986
Provides essential documentation on United States women sculptors alive in 1986. Entries include education and training, selected individual and group exhibitions, public and private collections, awards, brief bibliographies, and an artist's statement. Each entry features a photograph illustrating a major direction in the artist's work.
Call Number: Creative Arts - Reference N8354 .W656 1999
Focuses on 100 contemporary women artists from four racial/ethnic categories from North and South America: Native American, Latin American, African American, and Asian Pacific American . Each entry includes a career survey, selected exhibitions, publications, artist statement, and biographical essay.
Essential guide to books, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, theses, articles, and video recordings on Latin American women artists of the 20th century. The bibliography divides into sections on individual artists and general works, and the appendices list collective exhibitions and artists by country.
Call Number: Creative Arts - Reference N6757 .M33 1998
Provides bibliographic citations and abstracts for publications on selected women artists and designers working in Europe between 1800 and the present. Coverage includes reference works, monographs, and exhibition catalogs, but not periodicals or essay collections. Vol. 1 covers design and the decorative arts, vol. 2 the fine arts and photography. Vol. 2 includes an essential general index for the both volumes and an index of artists and designers by country.
Call Number: Creative Arts - Reference ND467.5.V52 H37 1997
Index and annotated bibliography devoted to the artistic contributions and activities of women in 19th-century Britain. Coverage includes books, periodicals, exhibition catalogs and reviews, advertisements, and newspapers. The chronologically arranged bibliography divides into 4 chapters (with introductory essays) on painters; exhibitions, models, and criticism; art schools; and reviews. The index of annotations is essential for locating material on a particular artist.