"An open access, intellectual resource focused on architecture, urbanism, environmental and landscape design, visual culture, and conservation issues related to the Muslim world." Sponsored by the Aga Khan Foundation.
"Covers every period of Western architectural history. Includes over 250 line drawings, labelled cross-sections, and diagrams. Biographical entries on leading historical architects, as well as subjects such as algorithmic design, digital architecture, and parametric design, and many entries expanding the coverage of landscape architecture"
Contains over 1500 A-Z entries covering all aspects of architecture, from architects, building types, and movements and styles to materials, aspects of design, and definition. Particularly strong in its coverage of architecture around the world, and of modern and vernacular architecture.
Biographical information also appears inBiography in Context. Features detailed entries on 523 architects and 467 buildings and sites that have figured prominently in Western architectural history. The set includes over 1,100 photographs and floor plans, and geographic, building, and architect indexes.
Comprehensive profiles of the most significant architects of the 20th century. Biographical details of each architect/partnership, listings of works & projects, major exhibitions, bibliography, a personal statement, & an evaluative essay. Illustrated.
From Art Nouveau to Postmodernism, Benetton to Frank Lloyd Wright, this dictionary covers the past 150 years of international design, with succinct entries on ceramics, furniture, graphics, industrial design, interiors, and fashion.
Designers and manufacturers feature in a range of biographical entries, and the dictionary's international focus takes in major movements, key concepts, design terminology, and important design institutions, museums, and heritage sites.
This guide includes a variety of resources related to the architecture of Brandeis University
Architecture: Print Resources
Encyclopedia of 20th-Century Architecture by R. Stephen Sennott (Editor)"Links architects and structures to entries on the history & theory of the profession.... Features major architects, firms, and professional issues; buildings, styles, and sites; architecture of cities & countries; critics & historians; construction, materials, and planning topics; schools, movements, and stylistic and theoretical terms. Includes... bibliographies & illustrations."
Call Number: Creative Arts Reference NA680 .E495 2004
Makers of 20th Century Modernist Architecture by Donald L. Johnson; Donald LangmeadCombines biography and critical analysis with an extensive bibliography of publications by or about architects and engineers whose work has proven influential on the course of modern Western architecture. Opens with a concise historical discussion of the evolution of modernism. Includes many plates of photographs, drawings, and plans.
Call Number: Creative Arts - Reference NA680 .J628 1997
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Architects by Adolf K. Placzek (Editor)Includes more than 2,400 biographies of architects from antiquity to the present (if born by 1930) from all geographical regions. The substantial biographies for major architects include evaluative essays. All entries include a work list & bibliography. Despite its age, this is still a valuable resource.
Call Number: Creative Arts - Reference NA40 .M25 1982
Call Number: Creative Arts - Reference NA996 .C6 1995
Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World by Paul Oliver (Editor)Worldwide overview of vernacular architecture -- dwellings and other buildings, reflecting environmental contexts, available resources, and close relationships to the lives of inhabitants. Falls thematically into two parts: "Theories and Principles (vol. 1) and "Cultures and Habitats (vol. 2-3). Extensive cross-referencing, glossary of terms, comparative lexicon of architectural terms (6 languages), substantial bibliography, index of cultures and habitats, nations and locations.
Call Number: Creative Arts - Reference NA208 .E53 1997
Elements of Style by Stephen Calloway; Elizabeth CromleyGuide to the heritage of domestic architecture in Great Britain & the United States. Copious illustrative material. Chronological arrangement by period & style traces history of the British & American house in a series of essays adhering to the same topical structure (introduction, doors, windows, walls, ceilings, floors, fireplaces, staircases, built-in furniture, services, lighting, metalwork, and woodwork). Biographies of architects & designers; glossary.
Call Number: Creative Arts - Reference NK1860 .E44 1996
Architectural Records in Boston by Nancy C. SchrockLocates the major holdings of architectural materials within Greater Boston, organizing the information in 3 separate sections: active and retired firms with pre-1970 records, repositories, and governmental agencies. Includes introductory essay "Conducting Architectural Research in Greater Boston." Glossary defines special archival and architectural terms, and the index provides access to the entries by name of architect, firm, organization, and institution. Prepared by the Massachusetts Committee for the Preservation of Architectural Records.
Call Number: Creative Arts - Reference NA735.B7 A72 1983