Research Guides: *Art, Architecture, and Photography: Images

Creative Arts Librarian

she/her/hers

Contact:

lzeidenb@brandeis.edu

781-736-4697

Subjects: Art, Architecture and Photography, Classical and Early Mediterranean Studies, Film Studies, Music, Theater and Dance

Special Art & Photography Collections at Brandeis

The Trustman Collection of Honoré Daumier Lithographs
One of the world's greatest collections of lithographs by the French artist Honoré Daumier (1808-1879) amassed by Benjamin A. and Julia M. Trustman and given to Brandeis University.
more...less...
Its ca. 4,000 images of mid 19th-century Parisian social criticism and political commentary represent virtually every lithographic work created by Daumier. The entire collection is now available online.
Carl Van Vechten: Photographs 1932-1964
more...less...
Large, important collection of portrait photographs of celebrated musical, theatrical, artistic, and literary personalities made by the American photographer Carl Van Vechten.
African-American Portraits by Carl Van Vechten: An Online Exhibit
Manuscript Books of Hours and Medieval Manuscripts at Brandeis
The Department of Special Collections owns seven books of hours and medieval manuscripts dating from the late 12th to the early 16th centuries.
more...less...
A digitized version of the first manuscript -- Book of Hours: 15th Century -- is now available.
Special Collections.
The Rose Art Museum at Brandeis University
The Rose Art Museum is a world-class museum nationally recognized for the quality and comprehensiveness of its holdings, numbering over 8,000.
more...less...
In the field of contemporary American art, its collections, exhibitions, and publications rank it among the most distinguished college and university museums in the country. The New York Times has noted that the Rose Art Museum's collection is surpassed only by the Museum of Modern Art, The Metropolitan Museum of Art, and The Whitney Museum of American Art.

Artstor

Artstor This link opens in a new window
Image database featuring images from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists; the most comprehensive image resource available for educational and scholarly use, with many rare and important collections available nowhere else.

Guide to Using Artstor at Brandeis

How to Use Artstor

NOTE: In order to view images on ARTstor, please make sure your browser is set to allow pop-up windows and enable Java. You may also need to download a Java plugin. Use Firefox to access this database.

To learn more about ARTstor, watch this instructional video (part of the How to Use the Artstor Digital Library playlist on YouTube):

Art Reproductions

Grove Art Online (Oxford Art Online) This link opens in a new window
Online access to definitive reference works encompassing all aspects of visual culture; includes biographical and subject entries with bibliographies for further research and searchable images made available through Oxford's partnerships with museums, galleries, and other arts organizations.

Provides the most organized and direct path to a huge number of image links. Here's how to find the images after clicking on Grove Art:

Enter artist's name into search box -- click go.
Select article on artist from the results list.
After article appears, click on the "Images" tab in the upper left.
To view images from external sources (museums and galleries), click "External resources" in the left margin.

Note: when clicked, the External resources links connect directly with the museum or image site in a new window.

Art Resource
Commercial site, but database is freely available for searching
Artcyclopedia: The Fine Art Search Engine
The mission of this Web site "is to become the definitive and most effective guide to museum-quality fine art on the Internet." And it is an excellent resource! Only provides references to sites on the Web where artists' works can be viewed online.
more...less...
Focus is primarily on painting and sculpture, but the Web site also includes other artistic media where possible, including photography, decorative arts, installation art, video, digital and web-based art, naïve art/folk art/outsider art, and architecture. The site is primarily oriented toward searching by artist name.
American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library--Art and Architecture Collections (Library of Congress)
American Memory is an ongoing, frequently updated resource of digital images, audio, and media clips embracing all aspects of American history and culture.
more...less...
The site offers over 7 million digital reproductions of primary source materials from over 100 historical collections housed at the Library of Congress and other participating museums and institutions.
Google Advanced Image Search
If you want to go fishing on the Web for an image rather than using the Web sites noted above, this is about the best way to do it.

Print resources

Index to Two-Dimensional Art Works by Yala H. Korwin A guide to reproductions in over 250 English-language books containing color paintings, collages, illustrations, drawings, frescoes, murals, stained glass, mosaics, tapestries, and embroideries published between 1960 and 1977. Emphasizes artists working in the Western tradition. Pt. 1 is a listing of artists; pt. 2, a title-subject index arranged under one alphabet.
Call Number: Creative Arts - Reference N7525 .K67
World Painting Index by Patricia P. Havlice Essential resource for locating reproductions of paintings in books and catalogs published 1940-89. Arrangement: pt. 1, numbered bibliography of publications indexed; pt. 2, a listing by title of works by unknown artists; pt. 3, a listing by painter of works appearing in the indexed volume; pt. 4 (vol. 2), titles of works and their painters. First Supplement (1973-1980) Second Supplement (1980-1989)
Call Number: Creative Arts - Reference ND45 .H38
Print Index by Pamela J. Parry (Compiled by); Kathe Chipman A select guide for locating reproductions of prints by Western artists dating from the early 18th century through the mid-1970s in 100 English-language publications. Pt. 1 comprises the artist index; pt. 2, the subject and title index.
Call Number: Creative Arts - Reference NE90 .P17 1983
American Printmakers, 1880-1945 by Lynn B. Williams Provides access to information about United States printmakers 1880-1945 and to reproductions of their prints in standard reference sources, general art books and catalogs, and monographs.
Call Number: Creative Arts - Reference NE507 .W53 1993
American Printmakers, 1946-1996 by Betty Kelly Bryce Provides access to information about United States printmakers 1946-1996 and to reproductions of their prints in standard reference sources, general art books and catalogs, and monographs.
Call Number: Creative Arts - Reference NE508 .B76 1999
Sculpture Index by Jane Clapp A guide to photographs of sculptures in about 950 primarily English language publications. Vol. 1 covers sculpture of Europe and the contemporary Middle East; vol. 2, sculpture of the Americas, East Asia, Africa, the Pacific, and the classical world. Works indexed by artist's name, distinctive title, and selected subjects.
Call Number: Creative Arts - Reference NB36 .C55
World Architecture Index by Edward H. Teague (Compiled by) A guide for finding images of architectural works reproduced in more than 100 English-language books and encyclopedias. International scope covers most historical periods and styles. Provides citations to reproductions of exterior and interior views, plans, sections, and elevations. The four indexes include site, architect, type of work, and names of works.
Call Number: Creative Arts - Reference NA202 .T4 1991
Photography Index by Pamela J. Parry (Compiled by) Essential resource for locating artistic, journalistic, and documentary photographs made from the 1820s to the 1970s and reproduced in over 80 English-language books and exhibition catalogs primarily published from 1960 to 1976. The indexes include a chronological listing of works by unknown photographers, an alphabetical index to works by known photographers, and a detailed subject and title index.
Call Number: Creative Arts - Reference TR199 .P37