Skip to main content
“Brandeis

*Art, Architecture, and Photography

Guide to resources for the study of Fine Arts at Brandeis

Creative Arts Librarian

Lisa Zeidenberg's picture
Lisa Zeidenberg
Contact:
lzeidenb
Farber Library, Floor 2
781-736-4697

Searching for digitized archival materials

The primary purpose of this database is to help researchers locate physical archival materials, which can be found in museums, libraries, and archives around the country and the world. You can also use ArchiveGrid to find digitized primary materials by adding some simple code to your search; an explanation follows.

To find archival materials that have been digitized, use the search technique below, which limits results to collection descriptions that include links to digital content ("has_links:1" is librarian code for any item within a search record that includes the sequence "http," indicating content that exists on the Internet, including images, sound recordings, and other online materials).

To narrow search results to those that have links to digital content, add " has_links:1" to your search.
For example: 1918 influenza has_links:1

WorldCat searches for books, articles, and many other resource types, but you can use it specifically to find digitized primary materials following the directions below:

To narrow WorldCat results to digitized materials, click "Show More" under the Format option (in the left margin) and choose "Downloadable Archival Material" (a subset of Archival Material). An archival resource may also be a "Downloadable Image" (a subset of Internet Resource), or "Downloadable Visual Material" (a subset of Visual Material).

Access to major digitized archives

Due to a temporary arrangement (described below), many print items in the Brandeis Library can currently be accessed online via the HathiTrust. For these items, you will see a link that reads "Full Text Available at HathiTrust" in the Brandeis OneSearch catalog listing; follow the instructions below to gain access to the digitized content.

Beginning April, 2020, HathiTrust offers temporary access to in-copyright digitized items that are owned by Brandeis through its Emergency Temporary Access Service. You will see a link to the digitized HathiTrust material when you search the OneSearch catalog. Follow the instructions below to gain access to Brandeis-owned HathiTrust materials. Note that temporary access to HathiTrust items is limited to one person per item.

  1. Click where it reads "Full Text Available at HathiTrust" in the Brandeis OneSearch catalog record. You will need to sign in with your Brandeis username and password.
  2. Click on the link under the HathiTrust record that reads "Temporary Access."
  3. To view the PDF, click on the "Check Out" button, to the right of the statement "Access to this document is provided through the Emergency Temporary Access Service.

Please note that if you are out of the country, you may not be able to access HathiTrust materials using the steps above. If you experience any issues, please contact me and I will arrange to have the item downloaded for you.

If you're having trouble finding a digitized copy of a print item, try the Internet Archive -- you'll be surprised by the range of materials you can find there.