Full-text standard editions of major works in the humanities, in both original language and in English translation. Includes works by Fichte, Hegel, Kant, Leibniz, Nietzsche, Schopenhauer, Simmer, Weber, and Wittgenstein, in addition to the Oxford Duden German Dictionary.
"lyrikline.org is the platform on the internet on which poems are available to listen to, and to read both in their original languages and various translations: a concert of verse in the voices and languages of the authors."
"Munich Digitization Center (MDZ) handles the digitization and online publication of the cultural heritage preserved by the Bavarian State Library and by other institutions. It provides one of the largest and fastest growing digital collections in Germany, now comprising 501,460 titles available online."
"The digitization policy reflects the traditional special collection fields of the library: History, Classical Antiquity, Eastern Europe, Musicology. It comprises manuscripts, early prints, modern books, maps and photographic collections as well as journals and newspapers."
"Among these seven codices are ascribed to the so-called "Elsässische Werkstatt von 1418", the "workshop of Diebold Lauber" at Hagenau is represented by eleven, and the "workshop of Ludwig Henfflin", which probably worked at Stuttgart, by nine manuscripts. All these workshops were commercial enterprises working with a variable number of scribes and illuminators at the request of patrons as well as offering their manuscripts on the market. It is characteristic for these manuscripts that most of them were written in German. More precisely: They were written in the dialect of the particular scribe or - if requested - in the dialect of the patron. Furthermore they were written in a well readable script (Bastarda) on paper folios, which was cheaper than the formerly used parchment.
Regarding the contents the manuscripts cover almost the whole formal spectrum of medieval literature. Religious and devotional works, chronicles, medieval callendars, epic literature, works on natural history and even legal literature was copied by these workshops. The clients of the workshops were clergymen as well as noble dukes, the higher and lower nobility, but also the prosperous higher middle classes.
The illustrated manuscripts came to Heidelberg University Library via Bibliotheca Palatina, the famous Library of the palatine duke electors."
"Facsimiles of rare, and even unique, emblem books from the following libraries: the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; the Herzog August Bibliothek, Wolfenbüttel; Glasgow University, Utrecht University, Duke University, and the Getty Research Institute."
A digital collection of German periodicals from the 18th and 19th centuries, with particular emphasis on science and literature. From the Universitätsbibliothek Bielefeld, the Akademie der Wissenschaften zu Göttingen, and Georg Olms Verlag.