Call Number: Creative Arts Reference ML128.M78 D48 2009
Designed with the working actor in mind, The New Broadway Song Companion lists every song from more than three hundred Broadway shows, including nearly one hundred more than the first edition. Includes several indexes organizing the songs by voice type, song style, vocal arrangement, composer, lyricist, etc.
Call Number: Creative Arts Reference ML 102 .M88 G3 2001
Outstanding resource that primarily covers the most successful, prolific, and extensively heard writers and composers of musicals and operettas and the most successful and widely traveled productions in the mainstream of Western musical theater. Includes both biographical and title entries, which mostly focus on the history of the work.
Call Number: Creative Arts Reference MT 95 .G19 1995
Includes synopses and production details for 75 English-language musicals produced on Broadway between 1879 and 1994, arranged in chronological order. Includes an appendix of compact disc recordings. Profusely illustrated with photographs from Broadway productions.
Call Number: Creative Arts Reference MT 95 .G2 1989
Source of information on about 300 major works of musical theater of the 19th and 20th centuries from Great Britain, France, the United States, Austria, Germany, Hungary; and Spain. Provides the dates and leading artists of principal productions, detailed plot synopses, and lists of characters.
Call Number: Creative Arts Reference ML 128 .M78 B6 1996
Includes data on over 4,800 American musicals from 1877 to 1995. Part 1 lists all shows alphabetically; part 2 presents indexes to songs and personnel and a chronological listing of titles; part 3 includes entries on 164 composers and lyricists, including all songs listed by date; part 4 comprises three large indexes: collaborators, songs, and chronology.
Call Number: Creative Arts Reference ML 128 .M7 B6 1995
Includes data on songs from almost 7,000 American and foreign films. Vols. 1-2 list all movies alphabetically; vol. 3 contains a chronological listing of titles and complete indexes to personnel and songs. Includes all films except concert films (unless they contain original songs).
Call Number: Main Library Stacks ML102.M88 H6 1993
Coverage extends from the genre's nineteenth century beginnings to the present day, from The Black Crook (1866) to Jelly's Last Jam (1992). Included are entries on over 300 individual shows, musical series, performers, composers, lyricists, librettists, directors, designers, music directors, orchestrators, choreographers, producers, producing companies and other theatrical institutions, and on other subjects and genres relating to musical theatre.
Call Number: Main Library Stacks PN1995.9.M86 H57 2001
Identifies and describes the musicals and the artists who made them. Film entries range from the legendary The Jazz Singer in 1927 to Fantasia 2000. Artists ranging from Gene Kelly to Elvis Presley, Busby Berkeley, and John Travolta are included, as are musicians as varied as Irving Berlin, Paul Williams, and the Beatles. Entries also detail animated musicals, studios, operettas, rock documentaries, sequels and remakes, and dance movies.
Call Number: Creative Arts Reference ML390 .S983 2000
Covers all stage productions with published or recorded songs by major Broadway composers. Also includes notable works by other composers, chronological listing of productions, collaborator reference listing, and song and show title indexes.
Call Number: Creative Arts Reference ML128.M78 E84 2004
A first stop for the researcher. Sections include general histories; musical theater surveys; film musicals; creators and works; performers; performance studies; periodicals; sets and series of printed material; discographies; and recorded anthologies.