Research Guides: FA 197A: Studies in Asian Art: Fashion History of China: Finding articles

Lisa Zeidenberg

she/her/hers

Contact:

lzeidenb@brandeis.edu

781-736-4697

Subjects: Art, Architecture and Photography, Classical and Early Mediterranean Studies, Film Studies, Music, Theater and Dance

Asian studies

Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to western-language periodical articles, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, and anthologies pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia. Covers sources published worldwide from 1971 to the present.

Fashion

Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
Leading source of scholarly information on all aspects of dress and fashion worldwide, from prehistory to the present day.
Women's Wear Daily Archive This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, high-resolution archive of Women’s Wear Daily, from the first issue in 1910 to six months from the present. Every page, article, advertisement and cover has been included.
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
A searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Pages, advertisements, covers and fold-outs have been included, with rich indexing enabling researchers to find images by garment type, designer and brand names.

Art & architecture

Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Journals, magazines, trade publications and books covering a variety of art and architecture subjects including art and art history, antiques, interior and landscape design, and more; also includes a large image collection.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) This link opens in a new window
Searchable bibliography of books, journal articles, conference proceedings, dissertations, exhibition catalogs, reviews, and dealers' catalogs about European and American visual arts from late antiquity to the early 21st century. Covers 1975-2007.
International Bibliography of Art This link opens in a new window
The definitive resource for scholarly literature on Western art, IBA includes international scholarship on fine and decorative arts, museum studies, archaeology, classical studies and material culture. Coverage from 1975-2007 is provided in the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) database.
ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window
Provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, Entries date back as far as the late 1960s.
Gale OneFile: Fine Arts This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that support research in areas including drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. The database emphasizes full-text content for publications included in the Wilson Art Index and RILM bibliography.
Art & Architecture Archive This link opens in a new window
A full-text archive of magazines comprising key research material in the fields of art and architecture, dating from the late-nineteenth century to the twenty-first. Subjects covered include fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, and photography.
Database available through at least May 31, 2024, as part of ProQuest's Evidence-Based Acquisition Program.

All Art, Architecture, and Photography Databases

Boston Public Library: Art databases

Access to these databases requires a BPL electronic library card (eCard); please see instructions on how to get one.

Art Full Text - through Boston Public Library (BPL)
Covers a wide range of fine arts topics; lots of full text.
more...less...
Periodicals covered include English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Additional periodicals are published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. This database also indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Coverage: indexing of periodicals from 1984-present and full text from 1995-present.
Art Index Retrospective - through Boston Public Library (BPL)
Index to fine arts-related scholarly articles published between 1929-1984. Links to full-text articles are provided.
more...less...
A bibliographic database that cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929-1984. The database cites articles from periodicals published throughout the world, including English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. Reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals are also included.