Research Guides: HS 602c: CYF Doctoral Seminar: Government Sources

Need Help with Data Analysis?

Data Analysis Guide - Brandeis
Guide to data analysis software and sources from Margarita Corral, Data Analysis Specialist at Brandeis.

Congressional Research Service (CRS)

The CRS, a division of the Library of Congress, provides policy and legal analysis to representatives and senators in Congress. CRS reports are renown for authoritative, objective, and non-partisan research but are not directly released to the public. CRS reports are available in several online collections including:

CRS from Congress.gov
As of 2018, all CRS reports that are not a matter of national security will be released to the public. Thank you, librarians!
Federation of American Scientists
FAS was founded in 1945 by many of the Manhattan Project scientists who wanted to prevent nuclear war. Updated monthly.
University of North Texas CRSR Collection
UNT digital collection of CRS Reports boasts a robust number of entries on various topics and is updated constantly.

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Access to congressional publications, hearings, debates, committee prints, CRS reports, legislative histories, bills, current laws, and regulations. Presently includes the full texts of hearings from 1824-2023, House & Senate Reports (Serial Set 1 & 2) from 1789-2003, CRS reports from 1916-2003, committee prints from 1830-2022, historical Congressional Record (debates) from 1789-1997 as well as the current Daily Congressional Record (debates) from 1985 to present, the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations.

GIS - Geographical Information Systems

GIS, or geographical information systems, is a way to display data using maps.

GIS Guide - Brandeis
Guide to GIS sources and practices from Alex Willett, Academic Outreach Librarian for GIS and the Social Sciences at Brandeis.

Gateways and Portals

USA.gov
Main portal to find and access government information on both the state and federal levels. This is a good place to start for anyone looking for current information.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
Index of thousands U.S. government publications with links to those available online.
Hathi Trust
Sizable collection of government information sources available through Hathi Trust. UNet Login required.
Science.gov
Searches over 60 databases and over 2200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results.

US Government Sources

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
Agency that produces evidence to make health care safer, higher quality, more accessible, equitable, and affordable.
Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS)
Main hub for DHHS. Find FOIA information, archives, resources for individuals, related websites, and government regulations.
Centers of Disease Control (CDC) Publications
Search CDC journals such as Morbidity and Mortality Weekly, and Emerging Infectious Diseases. Search by topic.
Healthfinder
DHHS gateway site to health and human services information.
National Cancer Institute (NCI)
Journals, pamphlets and other publications from the National Cancer Institute.
National Institutes of Health
The nation’s medical research agency—making important discoveries that improve health and save lives.
National Institute of Alcohol Abuse & Alcoholism
Division of NIH primarily responsible for research and raising awareness about alcohol.
United States Congress (formerly THOMAS.gov)
Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Access to congressional publications, hearings, debates, committee prints, CRS reports, legislative histories, bills, current laws, and regulations. Presently includes the full texts of hearings from 1824-2023, House & Senate Reports (Serial Set 1 & 2) from 1789-2003, CRS reports from 1916-2003, committee prints from 1830-2022, historical Congressional Record (debates) from 1789-1997 as well as the current Daily Congressional Record (debates) from 1985 to present, the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations.

State Sources

State of MA Health Policy Commission
Independent state agency that develops policy to reduce health care cost growth and improve the quality of patient care. The HPC also monitors the Commonwealth’s health care market, providing data on the impact of health care mergers, guidance for reform of the delivery and payment systems, and investments into community hospitals.
State of MA Department of Public Health
Find information for consumers, providers and researchers on state-related health topics.