Skip to main content
“Brandeis

Chinese for Life Science - CHIN 165A

Finding Full Text Articles

Getting to the full text of an article can be a little different depending on which database you're searching. We try to streamline the process as much as possible, but it often requires connecting several different systems that don't always play well together. This page explains how to find full text articles in CNKI, PubMed, Scopus, and OneSearch.

If you come across an article outside of our databases (for example, if you see it referenced in another article), try searching for the article in OneSearch (see more information at the bottom of this page). 

If you have trouble finding the full text of a particular article, feel free to contact our Research Help staff or email Lauren (lbuckley@brandeis.edu) for assistance. 

Find Full Text Articles in CNKI

Run your search in CNKI and look in the Downloads column in your search results.

If you see a green arrow, click on it to download a PDF of the article. You can also click on the book or HTML icon next to the green arrow to view the article in your browser.

 If you see a gray lock instead of a green arrow, we may not have access to the article. 

First, try searching for the Chinese title in Google Scholar. If you see a PDF or HTML link to the right of the article, click on it to get the full text. (Note: clicking on the title of an article in Google Scholar will bring you to the publisher's website, where you may be asked to pay). 

If there is no PDF or HTML link to the right of the article in Google Scholar, try requesting the article through Interlibrary Loan. 

  1. Log into your Interlibrary Loan account. (If prompted, register for an account). 
  2. On the left side of the screen under New Request, click on Article Scan Request.
  3. Fill in as much information about the article as you can. If the CNKI record includes the journal title, volume/issue number, and date in English, include these in the form. If possible, include both the English and Chinese article title somewhere in the form. The more information you can provide, the faster our staff will be able to track down the article.
  4. Submit the form and wait for an email from our staff. If we're able to get the article, you'll get an email notification. If we're not able to find the article, or if our staff have any questions about your request, they will let you know via email.

Find Full Text Articles in PubMed

Run your search in PubMed and click on the title of the article you want to read. 

In the upper right corner of the screen, look for the Full Text Links section. If you see a button that says something to the effect of free full text or PMC (PubMed Central, a free article repository), click on that first to see if it brings you to the full text. 

If there are no other options, or if they ask you to pay for the article, click on the Brandeis Get It button. This should bring you to the article record in OneSearch. (Don't see the Get It button? Go to the https://www.brandeis.edu/library/ and search for the title of the article in OneSearch). 

Scroll down to the Find Full Text in OneSearch section of this page for futher instructions.

Find Full Text Articles in PubMed

Run your search in Scopus and click on the title of the article you want to read. 

Click on the Find It button (immediately above or below the article title). 

This should bring you to the article record in OneSearch. (Don't see the Get It button? Go to the https://www.brandeis.edu/library/ and search for the title of the article in OneSearch). 

Scroll down to the Find Full Text in OneSearch section of this page for futher instructions.

Find Full Text Articles in OneSearch

Go to the library website and search for the title of the article in OneSearch. 

In OneSearch, scroll down a bit and look right under the orange bar. It will say either Full Text Available From or No Full Text. 

No Full Text

If it says No Full Text, click on Request via Interlibrary Loan. This will bring you to your Interlibrary Loan account and will autofill the article information. Check to see if you can add any information that wasn't autofilled, which will help our staff track down the article. Click submit and wait for an email update. 

Full Text Available

If it says Full Text Available From, click on the link next to it to get the full text. 

If the full text is available from China Academic Journals (CNKI), clicking on the link will bring you to the journal's search page in CNKI. To get to the article you want, look at the OneSearch or PubMed record for the publication year, volume/issue numbers, and page numbers (see the example below). 

On the CNKI journal page, click on the year of publication and look for the volume and/or issue number. Click on the correct volume/issue. On the next page, look for the correct page numbers and/or the article title.