Research Guides: GIS Data: Energy, Environment & Climate Data

Browse Data by Topic

Data Repositories: Global Coverage

Data Basin (Conservation Biology Institute)
Science-based mapping and analysis platform that supports learning, research, and sustainable environmental stewardship. Includes geospatial data on a variety of topics.
National Centers for Environmental Information (NOAA): Maps & Geospatial Products
Includes data on a variety of topics, including climate monitoring, marine geology, ecosystems, natural disasters, etc.
UNEP/GRID-Geneva Metadata Catalogue
Site includes geospatial data sets, covering topics like freshwater, population, forests, emissions, climate, disasters, health, and GDP.
World Bank Data Catalog: Geospatial Data
Geospatial data sets from the World Bank. Includes satellite imagery, vector & raster data, georeferenced environmental, agricultural, hydrological data, etc.

Africa Data Repositories

CARPE Open Data (USAID)
Central Africa Regional Program for the Environment (CARPE)'s open data portal. Includes data on land use zoning, ecological records, infrastructure, etc.

U.S. Data Repositories

Bureau of Land Management Geospatial Business Platform
Geospatial data portal for the U.S. Bureau of Land Management. Includes national and state-level data on a variety of topics, including fire and aviation, fisheries and wildlife, hydrology, recreation, adm more.
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Dataset Gateway
Data portal from the U.S. EPA with data covering topics such as aquifers, climate change, ecological regions, and more.
U.S. Forest Service: Geospatial Data Discovery
Geospatial data, maps, and applications from the U.S. Forest Service regarding topics such as forest management, recreation, fire and aviation, vegetation, and more.
U.S. National Park Service (NPS) Open Data
Includes NPS data on topics such as hydrology, water quality, vegetation, campsites, etc.
National Ecological Observatory Network (NEON)
Provides long-term open access ecological data to better understand how U.S. ecosystems are changing.
Web Soil Survey (USDA)
Soil data and information produced by the National Cooperative Soil Survey. Operated by the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS), which has online maps and soil data for 95% of U.S. counties.

Global Biodiversity & Conservation Data

Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF) Portal
Biodiversity data from across the world. Search by country, scientific or common name(s), etc.
IUCN Red List of Threatened Species: Spatial Data Download
Data include global assessments for 112,432 species. More than 78% of these (>88,500 species) have spatial data.
Botanical Information & Ecology Network (BIEN)
Includes georeferenced plant observations from herbarium, plot, and trait records; plot inventories and surveys; species geographic distribution maps; plant traits; species-level phylogeny for all plants in the New World; cross-continent, continent, and country-level species lists.

U.S. Biodiversity & Conservation Data

USA National Phenology Network
Site includes observational data and phenology maps.
U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service ArcGIS Online Data Portal
Includes national and regional USFWS data on topics such as coastal barriers, critical habitat, landscape conservation, migratory bird conservation, etc.

Climate Data

Climate Data (NCA Interactive Atlas)
Access data from the 5th National Climate Assessment Interactive Atlas. Site includes a range of observed and modeled datasets that can be downloaded or accessed as ArcGIS and OGC web services.
National Weather Service GIS Portal
Includes downloadable data on precipitation and weather patterns, disasters, air quality, etc. File formats include shapefiles, KML, web services, etc.
NCAR/UCAR Climate Data Guide
National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR)'s data guide was curated by experts in the field. It includes observational data sets, tools, and methods related to climate science.
The National Risk Index (FEMA)
The National Risk Index is a dataset and online tool to help illustrate the United States communities most at risk for 18 natural hazards. It was designed and built by FEMA in close collaboration with various stakeholders and partners in academia; local, state and federal government; and private industry.
National Snow & Ice Data Center
Data on our world’s frozen realms, including snow, ice, glaciers, frozen ground, and climate interactions that make up Earth’s cryosphere.

Ocean Data

Ocean Data Viewer
Data portal from the UN Environment World Conservation Monitoring Centre that includes a range of spatial datasets related to the conservation of marine and coastal biodiversity.
Mid-Atlantic Ocean Data Portal (MARCO)
Data portal includes ocean resources and human use information such as fishing grounds, recreational areas, shipping lanes, habitat areas, energy sites, etc. for the Mid-Atlantic.
Massachusetts Ocean Resource Information System (MORIS)
Data portal created by the MA Office of Coastal Zone Management to provide access to geospatial data, interactive maps, and tools pertaining to the MA coastal zone.
Northeast Ocean Data Portal
Expert-reviewed interactive maps and data on the ocean ecosystem, economy, and culture of the northeastern United States.

U.S. & International Energy Data

Dept of Energy (DoE) Data Explorer
Office of Scientific and Technical Information's (OSTI)'s search tool for finding DOE-funded, publicly available, scientific data.
Open Energy Initiative (OpenEI)
Knowledge sharing platform with open data sets on renewable energy, utilities, and related topics.
National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL): Geospatial Data Resources
Includes geospatial data on renewable energy sources for the U.S. and internationally.
Joint Organisations Data Initiative (JODI)
Coordinates the collection, standardization, and publication of oil and gas data from around the world (100+ countries). Coverage: oil data from 2002, gas data from 2009.
USGS Energy Resources Program
Geospatial data sets and maps on energy sources, including national and international assessments on petroleum, gas, coal, etc.

Geology Data

NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information
Data on natural hazards, ocean drilling, bathymetry, geophysics, etc.
USGS Mineral Resources Spatial Data
Interactive maps and downloadable data for regional and global analysis.

Additional Sources

Environmental health data sources can be found under Health data. Agriculture, food & water security data sources can be found under Humanitarian data.